Online Resources
Theology Databases
ATLA Religion Database Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. This database is the definitive index for religious and theological literature.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 360,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
Religion and Philosophy Collection Indexes, abstracts, and provides full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Bible Dictionaries
Commentaries in Reference
Book descriptions adapted from publisher notes
Commentaries for Checkout
The Walsh library has thousands of books of commentary available for checkout. They are arranged in the order of the books of the Bible on the shelves in the upstairs section of the library with Library of Congress call number "BS". Series that cover the whole Bible are shelved together. Here are some major series:
Viewing for context and background
View videos on Old and New Testament authorship
- Who Authored the Old Testament?Questions about the language and construction of the Jewish Bible, especially its first five books, are among the most fascinating in paleography. Was Moses the sole originator of the Pentateuch? Did other writers have a hand in it? How does archaeology complement textual research? In this program, theologian Robert Beckford travels through the Middle East in search of definitive answers.
- Who Authored the New Testament?Transitioning from ancient Jewish narratives to the emergence of the Jesus story, this program follows theologian Robert Beckford as he studies the authorship of the Gospels and subsequent New Testament books. Beckford’s itinerary stretches from Jerusalem and Bethlehem to the Turkish ruins of Ephesus, then westward to Rome, London, and Bible-Belt America—underscoring the textual evolution that produced a standardized Bible and highlighting both ancient and modern politicization.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Other Guides to the Bible
Chronological tables, a key to the maps according to books of the Bible, and an index to all geographic names appearing on the maps complete the book.

Loading...
