This is the "Home" page of the "PHIL 350: Philosophy of Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PHIL 350: Philosophy of Medicine  

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2011 URL: http://libguides.walsh.edu/PhilosophyOfMed Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Worthwhile books

Search the library catalog using keywords "philosophy of medicine."  You can further refine this search with your topic.  Over 130 books on this topic are available at Walsh.  If you extend the search to OPAL or OhioLINK, you will find hundreds more.  This means some of them are more likely to discuss a more narrower topic.

Here are some examples of what you'll find:

 

Find a topic, get a start

Are you searching for a topic and need a good place to start?  There are two major journals in the Philosophy of Medicine:

1. The Journal of Medicine and Philosophy and

2. Philosophy, Ethics and Humanities in Medicine

You can click on the link above to view the contents of either journal, or click here to view contents of them together.  Full text is available for both, so if you find a topic you would like to pursue, you will have an initial article and usually a good starting bibliography at the end of the article.

      

    Key Databases

    Once you have selected your topic, these are the most useful databases to find more information:

    • Philosopher's Index
      Index The premier international resource in philosophy: The Philosophers Index is a bibliographic database with informative author-written articles.
    • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
      A virtual library of resources from Gale designed to aid students in the study of today's hottest social issues.
    • CQ Researcher
      The CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each report is on a single topic more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.
    • Humanities International Complete
      Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
    • Academic Search Complete
      Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
    • PubMed
      Indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines.
    • Historical Abstracts
      Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Dan Suvak
    Contact Info
    Walsh University Library
    (330) 490-7183 or (888) 627-1826
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip