This is the "Home" page of the "THEO 106: Scripture and the Catholic Tradition, Bible commentary" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

THEO 106: Scripture and the Catholic Tradition, Bible commentary   Tags: bible, religion, scripture, theology  

Last Updated: Mar 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.walsh.edu/Bible Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Resources

Cover Art
Oxford Bible Commentary
Call Number: REF BS491.3 .O93 AND ONLINE
ISBN: 9780198755005
Publication Date: 2001
A monumental, line-by-line critical commentary on the Bible, covering all the books that appear in the NRSV. This definitive book provides authoritative, non-denominational commentary written by an international team of more than 70 leading scholars from various religious backgrounds.


New Testament Abstracts
For advanced study, these indexes to scholarly commentaries in books and journals provide access to a wide range of specialized discussion on themes and passages. Click "Scriptures" at top of screen to browse chapter and verse, or search by theme or book, chapter and verse.

Theology Databases

ATLA Religion Database  Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. This database is the definitive index for religious and theological literature.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 360,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.

Religion and Philosophy Collection Indexes, abstracts, and provides full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

      
     

    Bible Dictionaries

    Cover Art
    The Anchor Bible Dictionary
    Call Number: REF BS440 .A52
    ISBN: 9780385193511
    Publication Date: 1992
    This 6-volume, interdenominational state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship.

    Cover Art
    Catholic Bible Dictionary - Scott Hahn
    Call Number: REF BS440 .H23 2009
    ISBN: 9780385512299
    Publication Date: 2008
    This reference guide, written specifically for Catholics, contains more than five thousand clear and accessible entries and covers a wide range of people, places, and topics. From Genesis to Revelation, the whole of salvation history is presented and explained in smart, easy-to-understand prose.

     

    Commentaries in Reference

    Book descriptions adapted from publisher notes

    Cover Art
    The New Jerome Biblical Commentary
    Call Number: REF BS491.2 .B76 1990
    ISBN: 9780138598365
    Publication Date: 1990
    This reference book is a compact commentary on the entire Bible that readers can use to familiarize themselves with the methods and paths followed by biblical scholars.

    Cover Art
    The Collegeville Bible Commentary
    Call Number: REF BS491.2 .C64
    ISBN: 9780814614846
    Publication Date: 1989
    Excellent, readable, brief commentary with clear summaries of current Scripture scholarship. Commentaries in the Collegeville series on individual books are also available for checkout.

    Cover Art
    New Interpreter's Bible
    Call Number: REF BS491.2 .N495
    ISBN: 9780687002313
    Publication Date: 1994
    Excellent, multi-volume work with extensive commentary on every chapter and verse, written at an understandable level.

    Cover Art
    The IVP Women's Bible Commentary
    Call Number: REF BS521.4 .I96
    ISBN: 9780830814374
    Publication Date: 2002
    This surprising commentary searches Scripture in light of the many theological, biblical, sociological and psychological concerns of women.

    Cover Art
    Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture
    Call Number: REF BS491.2 .A52
    ISBN: 9780830814862
    Publication Date: 2001
    This series makes patristic commentary on the Bible accessible to laymen. Snippets from the Fathers of the Church appear with references to the complete writings, available in other texts, databases or via interlibrary loan.

     

    Commentaries for Checkout

    The Walsh library has thousands of books of commentary available for checkout.  They are arranged in the order of the books of the Bible on the shelves in the upstairs section of the library with Library of Congress call number "BS".  Series that cover the whole Bible are shelved together.  Here are some major series:

    Cover Art
    Anchor Bible
    Call Number: BS491.2 .A5
    ISBN: 9780300139785
    The Anchor Bible project continues to produce volumes that keep readers current on recent scholarship and are grounded in analysis. The works bring advances in science and technology to bear on biblical materials, making historical and linguistic knowledge related to the interpretation of the biblical record available to experts and students alike

    Cover Art
    Word Biblical Commentary
    Call Number: BS491.2 .W67
    ISBN: 9780849902000
    The Word Biblical Commentary delivers the best in biblical scholarship, from the leading scholars of our day who share a commitment to Scripture as divine revelation. This series emphasizes a thorough analysis of textual, linguistic, structural, and theological evidence.

     

    Viewing for context and background

    View videos on Old and New Testament authorship

    • Who Authored the Old Testament?
      Questions about the language and construction of the Jewish Bible, especially its first five books, are among the most fascinating in paleography. Was Moses the sole originator of the Pentateuch? Did other writers have a hand in it? How does archaeology complement textual research? In this program, theologian Robert Beckford travels through the Middle East in search of definitive answers.
    • Who Authored the New Testament?
      Transitioning from ancient Jewish narratives to the emergence of the Jesus story, this program follows theologian Robert Beckford as he studies the authorship of the Gospels and subsequent New Testament books. Beckford’s itinerary stretches from Jerusalem and Bethlehem to the Turkish ruins of Ephesus, then westward to Rome, London, and Bible-Belt America—underscoring the textual evolution that produced a standardized Bible and highlighting both ancient and modern politicization.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Dan Suvak
    Contact Info
    Walsh University Library
    (330) 490-7183 or (888) 627-1826
    Send Email
     

    Other Guides to the Bible

    Cover Art
    Macmillan Bible Atlas
    Call Number: REF BS630 .A3
    ISBN: 9780025006058
    The work covers the years 3000 B.C. through A.D. 200. The 269 two-color maps are arranged chronologically. Each map is accompanied by references to biblical sources. Succinct text explains the historical background of each map. The pages are further illustrated with black-and-white drawings of artifacts and a few photographs.

    Chronological tables, a key to the maps according to books of the Bible, and an index to all geographic names appearing on the maps complete the book.

    Cover Art
    The Strongest Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
    Call Number: REF BS440 .H23 2009
    ISBN: 9780310233435
    Publication Date: 2001
    Accurate and thorough contextual index to all words appearing in the King James Version of the Bible. Other concordances are available near this title.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip