Resources to start with
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- International Corrections and Prisons AssociationLibrary of articles - sign up for free affiliate membership. Some items only for paid members.
- INTERPOLInternational Criminal Police Organization
- Legal and Judicial Systems in Countries Around the WorldThis guide identifies selected print and online sources describing the legal systems of foreign countries and their constitutions and constitutional courts. It also describes research strategies for locating other books and law review articles.
- United Nations Office on Drugs and CrimeOne of the key tasks of UNODC is to produce and disseminate accurate drugs and crime statistics at the international level. UNODC also works to strengthen national capacity to produce, disseminate and use drugs and crime statistics within the framework of official statistics.
- University of Ottawa JuriglobeJuriGlobe is a research group formed by professors from the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa, which focuses on the development of a multilingual information data bank, accessible to all on the internet, containing general information relating to the different legal systems in the world.
- University of Pittsburgh JURIST resourceWorld Law is JURIST's quick reference guide to the constitutional and legal systems of countries around the world.
Comments (0)
About This Guide

This guide provides support for the research project asking you to compare the criminal justice systems of two different countries.
Resources to Start With
Do a subject search in the library catalog: Criminal justice, administration of
Adult Corrections: International systems and perspectives - John A. Winterdyk, editor
Call Number: HV9443 .A48 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Comparative and international criminal justice systems: policing, judiciary, and corrections - Obi N. Ignatius Ebbe, editor
Call Number: ebook
Explores policing, judicial, and penological models of various countries and contrasts effective and less effective methods.
Comparative criminal justice systems : a topical approach - Reichel, Philip L.
Call Number: HV7419 .R45 2008
Crime and Punishment Around the World
Call Number: REFERENCE SECTION HV6025 .C711 2010
Publication Date: 2010
V. 1. Africa and the Middle East -- v. 2. The Americas -- v. 3. Asia and Pacific -- v. 4. Europe
Harsh punishment : international experiences of women's imprisonment - Sandy Cook, editor
Call Number: HV8738 .H37 1999
Juvenile justice systems : international perspectives - edited by John A. Winterdyk
Call Number: HV9069 .J84 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Legal Systems of the World: a political, social and cultural encyclopedia - Kritzer, Herbert N.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1576072312
Publication Date: 2002
Policing in America: A Reference Handbook - Leonard A. Steverson
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781598840438
Includes chapters on policing in other countries.
Profiling and Criminal Justice in America: A Reference Handbook - Jeffrey B. Bumgarner, editor
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781851094691
Publication Date: 2004
Includes chapters on profioing - international perspective and four legal traditions around the globe.
Statesmans Yearbook
Call Number: REF JA51 .S7
Click for online version. Legal systems are summarized under “social institutions—justice”
The Power to Decide — Prosecutorial Control, Diversion and Punishment in European Criminal Justice Systems Today - Jehle, Jörg-Martin
ISBN: 9783540339588
Publication Date: 2006
The State of the prisons--200 years on - edited by Dick Whitfield
Call Number: ebook
Sheds light on 10 prison systems worldwide
World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems - Kurian, George Thomas
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780787677367
Publication Date: 2006
Describes the national law enforcement and correctional systems of more than 195 countries across the globe. Click on Online link then table of contents.
Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life - Timothy L. Gall
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780787605520
Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life - Timothy L. Gall
Call Number: REF Section GN333 .W67 2009
Documentaries and more
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
