This is the "Home" page of the "BUS 221: Business Finance, Finding company information & peer group analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BUS 221: Business Finance, Finding company information & peer group analysis  

Using the Walsh library business databases to tofind company information, especially Mergent for financial information and peer group analysis
Last Updated: Feb 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.walsh.edu/companyinfo Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Company profiles in the library

Books in the Walsh Library to help explore ratios not covered in online databases and provide data on industries including non-public companies.

 

Value Line Investment Survey
Call Number: REF HG4501 .V34
ISBN: 00422401
Updated weekly, this guide provides a one-page snapshot of leading publicly-traded companies and summaries of industry groups.

Cover Art
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: REF HF5681 .R25 A44
50 operating and financial factors are tracked in nearly 200 industries, with data available for companies in 13 groupings by size of their assets.

Annual Statement Studies: Financial Ratio Benchmarks - Risk Management Association
Call Number: REF HF5681 .B2 .R6
Includes 19 widely-used ratios based on 244,000 statements broken down by size of company into low, median and upper quartiles

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Call Number: REF HF5681 .R25 I5
Based on one million financial statements, public and privately owned, in a brief, compact guide

Cover Art
Business Ratios and Formulas - Steven Bragg
Call Number: HF5691 .B73 2007
ISBN: 0470055170
An ideal tool for measuring corporate performance, this guide lists 250 criteria with clear explanations

Hoover's Handbook of American Business
Call Number: REF HG4057 .H66 2008
ISBN: 10557202
Profiles of 750 major U.S. companies

Databases

Use these databases to find financial and narrative information on your company. 

  • Mergent
    The essential source for financial information and peer group analysis. Click the "HOW TO" tab on this page for a PowerPoint on using Mergent, or view videos below to help you navigate this site
  • Business Insights (Business and Company Resource Center)
    Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
  • Business Source Complete
    Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business publications.
  • Lexis-Nexis
    Use this extensive worldwide database of news, business and legal information.
  • IBIS World  
      
    Detailed, comprehensive reports on over 700 United States industries – everything from Shoes Stores to Gold Ore Mining and all industries in between.
  • Factiva  
      
    Factiva's business information includes Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources from around the world.
 

Peer Group Analysis with Mergent VIDEO TUTORIAL

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip