This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Walsh ebooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Walsh ebooks   Tags: download, ebooks, mobile applications, mobile apps  

This guide describes the e-book collections and mobile downloads that are available to students, faculty and staff at Walsh University. It also provides instructions on accessing and downloading each of these collections.
Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.walsh.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Downloading eBooks Quick Guide

Note that not all OhioLINK ebooks are downloadable to other devices - some must be read from a desktop or notepad computer. The chart on the Walsh eBooks page provides a comparison of features available.

Computer Requirements

Some of the resources in this guide will require you to have the current version of some free software applications installed on your computer. Please download these resources using the following links.

  • Bluefire Reader
    Bluefire Reader for Apple iOS and Android organizes eBooks from public libraries, independent bookstores and national retailers
  • Get Adobe Flash Player
    Using some OhioLINK E-book resources require that you have Adobe Flash installed.
  • Get Adobe Digital Editions
    Downloading E-books from EBSCO requires the use of Adobe Digital Editions.
 

What's in This Guide

Image courtesty of Mobitary.com via Google Images.

Electronic books (also known as e-books or eBooks) are long-form documents that are available in a digital format.  They are meant to be read using a computer or another device, such as an eReader, tablet or phone.

Walsh University provides many ways to gain access to eBooks including collections available through the OhioLINK consortium and items we have purchased specifically to support our curriculum.  This guide will highlight those collections as well as how to work with downloading to specific devices and using mobile applications or "apps". 

Additionally, there are many e-book collections available freely on the web.

Audiobooks

In addition to our collection of audiobooks at Walsh, check out some of these other fabulous (and free) options that allow you to download to the device of your choice.

  • Accessible Books
    Access to online libraries such as Bookshare of accessible reading materials for people with print disabilities.
  • Audible
    Use a simple Google search to find free content on Audible
  • Audiobook Bay
    Download unabridged audiobook for free or share your audio books, fast, safe and high quality!
  • Audiobooks for Free
    UK based site with some otherwise unpublished authors. Search allows for some filters.
  • Free Christian Audio Books
    Small, unique collection of titles including Pilgrim's Progress.
  • Free Classic Audiobooks
    Modest but interesting collection of free audio books and documents.
  • Learn Out Loud
    Offers a selection of over 5000 free educational audio and video titles.
  • LibriNox
    Public domain audiobooks
  • Ohio Digital Library
    Your public library card provides access to audiobooks and more!

Assistant Librarian, Content Strategy and Access

Profile Image
Heidi Beke-Harrigan
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip