Henry James: Novels 1871-1880 (LOA #13) by
Here is an immensely engaging introduction to one of the great novelists of our own or any country, the first volume in the Library of America edition of Henry James's complete works. James's first novel, Watch and Ward (1871), written when he was only 28, is a Pygmalion-type story in which a proper Bostonian gentleman grows to love and eventually marry the much younger woman whose guardian he is. Roderick Hudson (1875) is a novel about a headstrong and proud young American sculptor of generous native talent who loses his way among the entanglements and temptations of Italy. The American (1877) was written in Paris and is filled with scenes of Parisian life, the expatriate culture of American tourists, and the closed and protective world behind the barriers of old families and traditions. In The Europeans (1878) a pristine, conservative, 1830s New England village is invaded by two visiting cousins, brother and sister, from the European branch of one of the town's leading families. Confidence (1880), a little-known and charming novel of American expatriates traveling through the great cities and watering-places of Europe, is a light drawing-room comedy about the romantic entanglements among two old friends and the two very different women they encounter. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
Watch and Ward | Roderick Hudson | The American | The Europeans | Confidence
Henry James: Novels 1881-1886 (LOA #29) by
Written in London and Italy between 1879 and 1885, the novels in this Library of America volume portray American women confronting crises of independence and possession. Studies in the exercise of power that marks relations between sexes, classes, and cultures, they show James's special solicitude for the young heroines who occupy the center of his fictional world. Washington Square (1880) examines the life of Catherine Sloper, a plain, sweet, young woman who lives imprisoned by the selfishness of those close to her: her lover, who cares only for her fortu≠ her aunt, who meddles for the sake of romantic intrigue; and her protective father, who repays her adoration with irony and wit. Set in the New York of the 1840s, Washington Square evokes the still-intimate city of James's childhood while presenting a frightening moral lesson in the human consequences of manipulation and indifference. The Portrait of a Lady (1881) is the story of Isabel Archer, a beautiful, idealistic, and inexperienced American woman who is made wealthy by her uncle at the instigation of her dying cousin. Surrounded by the seductive pleasures of nineteenth-century Europe, she preserves her idealism despite involvement with some who would divert her life to uses of their own--Caspar Goodwood, virile American captain of industry; Lord Warburton, scion of British aristocracy; Gilbert Osmond, connoisseur and collector of beautiful objects; Madame Merle, subtle and charming expatriate of unknown connections; and indomitable Henrietta Stackpole, roving journalist and steadfast friend. James's many-layered masterpiece concerns the perilous American pursuit of individual freedom. The Bostonians (1886) presents an unusual contest for the affections of Verena Tarrant, the lovely, naïve, and pliant daughter of a mesmerist lecturer. She is courted by two cousins: Basil Ransom, an impractical Mississippi landowner now pursuing a meager New York legal practice, and Olive Chancellor, a rich young Boston feminist. Against the richly textured backdrop of Boston and New York society, they enact a drama of confused identity and willful calculation that demonstrates the power and the perils engendered by the refusal of self-knowledge. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
Washington Square | The Portrait of a Lady | The Bostonians
Henry James: Novels 1886-1890 (LOA #43) by
The three novels in this Library of America volume from Henry James's middle period explore some historical and social dilemmas that belong as much to our time as to his own.The Princess Casamassimawas published in 1886, a year that saw riots of the unemployed in London. It is a political novel in which anarchists and terrorists conspire within afin de si cleworld of opulence and glamour. The action ranges from palaces to slums, from London to Paris to Venice and back again. The novel's hero, Hyacinth Robinson, is torn between his loyalty to revolutionary causes-for which he is about to commit an act of violence that may cost him his life-and his taste for the artistic side of aristocratic culture, represented in part by the beautiful, wealthy, compassionate, and yet deceptive Princess of the title. Possibly to save Hyacinth, she becomes romantically involved with his fellow conspirator Paul Muniment, a calculating political operative, idealistic and treacherous by turns. Assassination plots, sexual betrayals, murder, suicide, and the fierce play of conflicting loyalties-all these bring into play an intricate abundance of attendant figures, like the rakish Captain Sholto and the appealing but faithless Millicent Henning. The Reverberator(1888) is a swiftly paced comic novel named after a newspaper that caters to the American public's appetite for the "society news of every quarter of the globe." Francie Dosson, the free-spirited daughter of a wealthy Boston family, innocently provides gossip to George Flack, a "young commercial American" who writes for the paper. His published report imperils her engagement to Gaston Probert, whose family is outraged by the airing of its secrets. James portrays the collision of easily shocked Old World propriety and self-assured New World naivete with benevolent affection and spirited delight. The Tragic Muse(1890) explores with a topical realism not usually found in James the conflicts between art and politics, society and the Bohemian life. It does so with dazzling glimpses of Parisian theater and of London aestheticism, as articulated by the flamboyant and idealistic Gabriel Nash. At its center are four superbly drawn characters. The fascinating Miriam Rooth is an actress of overwhelming egotistic vitality and dedication to her art. Her suitor, the diplomat Peter Sherringham, is impassioned by her theatrical talent even while asking her to sacrifice it for his career. Nick Dormer faces a similar predicament in his engagement to the rich Julia Dallow, who wants him to forgo his painting so as to make use of her fortune in pursuit of his career in Parliament. Full of witty talk and vividly dramatic scenes, the novel includes a vast array of characters such as the impressive political matriarch Lady Dormer. Perhaps more than any of his novels, it attests to James's recognition of the costs of any dedication, like his own, to creative achievement. LIBRARY OF AMERICAis an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
The Princess Casamassima | The Reverberator | The Tragic Muse
Henry James: Complete Stories Vol. 4 1892-1898 (LOA #82) by
This Library of America volume is one of five that make available for the first time in new, complete, and authoritative editions the astonishing abundance of invention and unwavering intensity of the aesthetic vision of Henry James as displayed in more than one hundred world-famous stories ranging from brief anecdotes to richly developed novellas. Equally adept at ironic comedy, muted tragedy, and supernatural fantasy, at lively social satire and nuanced portraiture, James in his shorter works explores a staggering variety of situations and emotions. Here are courtships and legacies; the worlds of literature, theater, and the popular press; the paradoxes of temperament and the constraints of custom; the clash of conscience and desire. Stylistically, the stories allowed James to experiment with tones and devices quite different from his novels--dramatic plot twists and surprise endings, swift pacing and ebullient humor. The brilliance of his technical command allowed him to transform the tiniest of suggestions--a fleetingly observed gesture, an anecdote dropped at a dinner party--into fiction remarkable for its lambent surfaces and intricate psychological counterpoint. The twenty-one stories in this volume represent James at the peak of his storytelling powers. Among them are "The Turn of the Screw," one of his most popular works, and a terrifying exercise in psychological horror centering on the corruption of childhood innocence; "The Real Thing," a playful consideration of the illusion of art and the paradoxes of authenticity; "The Figure in the Carpet," "The Death of the Lion," and "The Middle Years," three very different expositions of the mysteries of authorship, embodying some of James's most profound insights into the nature of his own art; "The Altar of the Dead," a somber, ultimately wrenching meditation on the relation of the living to the dead; and "In the Cage," an extended evocation of the inner life of a young woman trapped in a dehumanizing job at a postal-and-telegraph office. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
The Other House | The Spoils of Poynton | What Maisie Knew | The Awkward Age
Henry James: Complete Stories Vol. 5 1898-1910 (LOA #83) by
"We work in the dark--we do what we can--we give what we have. The rest is the madness of art." These words, spoken by a dying novelist in "The Middle Years," sum up Henry James's credo as a writer. In more than one hundred stories, ranging from brief anecdotes to richly developed novellas, James displayed the unwavering intensity of his aesthetic vision--and he did so with an astonishing variety of invention. The Library of America makes this body of writing available in its entirety in a new, authoritative edition of James's world-famous stories, complete in five volumes. The thirty-one stories presented here are the culmination of James's glorious final period. Among them are the extraordinary fantasies "The Great Good Place" and "The Jolly Corner," in which supernatural motifs are used hauntingly to express undercurrents of yearning and dislocation; "Julia Bride," a character portrait akin to "Daisy Miller," in which a young American woman experiences the social pleasures and vicissitudes of the marriage market; "Crapy Cornelia," a story whose sense of the compelling power of nostalgic memory owes much to James's 1904 return visit to New York City; "The Birthplace," a comic tale about the commercialization of genius that has lost none of its satiric ed≥ "The Tree of Knowledge," a sly dissection of the family life of a pampered sculpt∨ "The Beast in the Jungle," one of James's masterpieces, the harrowing account of a man's confrontation with his own lost opportunities that has been seen as foreshadowing many of the dominant themes of twentieth-century literature; and "A Round of Visits," James's last story, about the need to confide and the limits of sympathy. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
John Delavoy
The Given Case
“Europe”
The Great Condition
The Real Right Thing
Paste
The Great Good Place
Maud-Evelyn
Miss Gunton of Poughkeepsie
The Tree of Knowledge
The Abasement of the Northmores
The Third Person
The Special Type
The Tone of Time
Broken Wings
The Two Faces
Mrs. Medwin
The Beldonald Holbein
The Story in It
Flickerbridge
The Birthplace
The Beast in the Jungle
The Papers
Fordham Castle
Julia Bride
The Jolly Corner
“The Velvet Glove”
Mora Montravers
Crapy Cornelia
The Bench of Desolation
A Round of Visits
Henry James: Novels 1901-1902 (LOA #162) by
This Library of America volume brings togetherone of Henry James's most unusual experiments andone of his most beloved masterpieces Writing to his friend William Dean Howells, Henry James characterized his experimental novel,The Sacred Fount, as the only one of his novels to be told in the first person, as "a fine flight into the high fantastic." While traveling to the country house of Newmarch for a weekend party, the nameless narrator becomes obsessed with the idea that a person may become younger or cleverer by tapping the "sacred fount" of another person. Convinced that Grace Brissenden has become younger by drawing upon her husband, Guy, the narrator seeks to discover the source of the newfound wit of Gilbert Long, previously "a fine piece of human furniture." His perplexing and ambiguous quest, and the varying reactions it provokes from the other guests, calls into question the imaginative inquiry central to James's art of the novel. James described the essential idea ofThe Wings of the Doveas "a young person conscious of a great capacity for life, but early stricken and doomed, condemned to die under short respite, while also enamoured of the world." The heroine, a wealthy young American heiress, Milly Theale (inspired by James's beloved cousin Minny Temple), is slowly drawn into a trap set for her by the English adventuress Kate Croy and her lover, the journalist Morton Densher. The unexpected outcome of their mercenary scheme provides the resolution to a tragic story of love and betrayal, innocence and experience that has long been acknowledged as one of James's supreme achievements as a novelist. This volume prints the New York Edition text ofThe Wings of the Dove, and includes the illuminating preface James wrote for that edition. LIBRARY OF AMERICAis an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
The Sacred Fount | The Wings of the Dove
Henry James: Travel Writings Vol. 2 (LOA #65) by
Henry James's travel writings are at once literary masterpieces, unsurpassed guidebooks and penetrating reflections on the international themes familiar from his fiction.This volume, the second of two, begins with the classicA Little Tour in France(1900), illustrated with Joseph Pennell's exquisite drawings from the original edition. James begins his tour of the French countryside one rainy morning in mid-September of 1882, when he sets off for the city of Tours as a means of exploring the proposition that "though France might be Paris, Paris was by no means France." From Tours, Balzac's birthplace, James travels to the great chateaux of the Loire Valley, visiting Chambord, Amboise, Chenonceaux, and Blois, where, as you cross the threshold, "you step straight into the sunshine and storm of the French Renaissance." Dense with literary associations and historical echoes, James's prose brings castles and cathedrals and old walled towns to life. In his glancingly precise visual evocations of terrain and cityscape, he realizes his ambition "to sketch without a palette or brushes." Henry James loved Italy, "a beautiful disheveled nymph" to England's "good married matron." The incisive and witty essays inItalian Hours(1909) describe memorably happy sojourns in Venice, Rome, and Florence, and excursions to Siena, Assisi, Perugia, Capri, Ravenna, and other Italian cities. "Nowhere do art and life seem so interfused" as in Venice, wrote James in celebration of the splendor of Venetian light and color, air, and history. He records his radiant impressions of Roman churches and aqueducts, museums and fountains, and rambles through the gardens of the Villa Borghese in spring, when Rome seems lighted "with an irresistible smile." All these essays are filled with James's intense pleasure in Italian places and people. This volume concludes with sixteen essays on such varied places as Switzerland, Holland, Rheims, and the Pyrenees, including a memorable account of the American volunteer ambulance corps in Europe during World War One. LIBRARY OF AMERICAis an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
A Little Tour in France
Italian Hours
Other Travels
Swiss Notes
Homburg Reformed
Darmstadt
The Splugen
In Holland
In Belgium
Chartres
Rouen
Etretat
From Normandy to the Pyrenees
Occasional Paris
Rheims and Laon: A Little Tour
Very Modern Rome
The American Volunteer Motor-Ambulance Corps in France
France
Henry James: Travel Writings Vol. 1 (LOA #64) by
Collected in this Library of America volume (and its companion) for the first time, Henry James's travel books and essays display his distinctive charm and vivacity of style, his sensuous response to the beauty of place, and his penetrating, sometimes sardonically amusing analysis of national characteristics and customs. Observant, alert, imaginative, these works remain unsurpassed guides to the countries they describe, and they form an important part of James's extraordinary achievement in literature. This volume brings together James's writing on Great Britain and America. The essays of English Hours (1905) convey the freshness of James's "wonderments and judgments and emotions" on first encountering the country that became his adopted home for half a century. James includes the vivid account of a New Year's weekend at a perfectly appointed country house, midsummer dog days in London, and the spectacle of the Derby at Epsom. Joseph Pennell's delightful illustrations, which appeared in the original edition, are reprinted with James's text. In The American Scene (1907) James revisits his native country after a twenty-year absence, traveling throughout the eastern United States from Boston to Florida. James's poignant rediscovery of what remained of the New York of his childhood ("the precious stretch of street between Washington Square and Fourteenth Street") contrasts with his impression of the modern, commercial New York, a new city representing "a particular type of dauntless power." Edmund Wilson, who praised The American Scene's "magnificent solidity and brilliance," remarked that "it was as if. . . his emotions had suddenly been given scope, his genius for expression liberated." Sixteen essays on traveling in England, Scotland, and America conclude this volume. The essays, most of which have never been collected, range from early pieces on London, Saratoga, and Newport, to articles on World War One that are among James's final writings. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
English Hours
Great Britain: Uncollected Travel Writings
London Sights
The Oxford-Cambridge Boat-Race
The Suburbs of London
London in the Dead Season
In Scotland
The Question of the Mind
Refugees in England
Within the Rim
The Long Wards
The American Scene
America: Early Travel Writings
Lake George
From Lake George to Burlington
Saratoga
Newport
Quebec
Niagara
Americans Abroad