What is Gaudium et Spes?
Gaudium et Spes (meaning "Joy and Hope"), is the Pastoral Constitution on the Church in the Modern World and from the Second Vatican Council. The document is an overview of the Catholic Church's teachings about man's relationship to society, especially in reference to economics, poverty, social justice, culture, science & technology, and ecumenism.
Pope Benedict XVI's Homily on Gaudium et Spes

- Homily of Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger (Pope Benedict XVI)Homily given by Pope Benedict XVI at the Conference "The Call to Justice: The Legacy of Gaudium Et Spes 40 Years Later".
St Peter's Basilica
Friday, 18 March 2005
I Need More Articles About Gaudium et Spes
The below databases are a good place to look for more articles about Gaudium et Spes.
- Catholic Periodical IndexCovers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 360,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionIndex, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Gaudium et Spes Text
Summary and Critical Comments, by Gerald Darring
Gerald Darring, professor of Theology at Spring Hill College and webmaster of the Theology Library, has written on Gaudium et Spes extensively and is a good resource for those looking for additional information on the text.
- Summary of Gaudium et SpesA Summary Article by Gerald Darring.
- Critical CommentsCritical comments on Gaudium et Spes collected by Dr. Darring
- Bibliography of Further Gaudium et Spes InformationBibliography of further information and research collected by Dr. Gerald Darring.
Presentations at the Conference "The Call to Justice: The Legacy of Gaudium Et Spes 40 Years Later," Vatican City, March 16-19, 2005
For a full listing of papers presented at the conference on Gaudium et Spes, visit the University of St. Thomas Center for Catholic Studies John A. Ryan Institute
- An Historical Perspective and Gaudium et SpesBy Prof. Andrea Riccardi, Founder of the Community of St. Egidio
- Theological and Ecclesiological Foundations of Gaudium et spesBy Cardinal Claudio Hummes, Archbishop of Sao Paulo
- Gaudium et spes: Atheism, Culture and Christian FaithBy Dr. Gregory J. Coulter of the University of St. Thomas
- Gaudium et spes: An Invitation to Dialogue with the WorldBy Laurent Marbacher of Esprit d’Entreprise, France
- Gaudium et spes and Catholic Ethics in Post-Industrial Economics: Indirect Employers and GlobalizationBy Albino Barrera, O.P., Providence College
- Gaudium et Spes and Dignitatis Humanae: Are They in Conflict: Reflections in light of the Current Controversy Regarding Catholicism and PoliticsBy Rev. John T. Pawlikowski, OSM, Ph.D., Professor of Social Ethics Catholic Theological Union
- The Subject of Gaudium et spes: Reclaiming a Christocentric Anthropology of the Human PersonBy Gil Bailie of The Cornerstone Forum
- Gaudium et spes and the Ecological Awareness of Our TimeBy Moris Polanco, Universidad Francisco Marroquín
- Global Climate Change and the Church in the Modern World: A Sign of the TimesBy Dr. Russell A. Butkus and Dr. Steven A. Kolmes of the University of Portland
Librarian |
Contact Info Assistant Librarian for Archives and Special Collections khutchison@walsh.edu (330) 244-4968 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
