LibGuides: Music: Finding Articles

Databases

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles. New articles are added daily.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles related to film and television.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications on all aspects of theater and performance.

Internet Broadway Database
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

OhioLINK Music Center This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Music Center is an online streaming music database of international works in a variety of genres, from Classical to Spoken Word. The Music Center contains more than 81,000 tracks from more than 22,000 albums and receives tens of thousands of downloads annually. All files are available for educational use to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK's member institutions.

If the article is available in full-text, you will see a PDF Full-Text or HTML Full-Text icon. Click on either one for full-text

If you see this OhioLINK EJC icon, the full text article is available at the OhioLINK EJC by clicking on the link

Use the option "open the page in a new window" to be taken to the journal or article

How can I tell if it's a scholarly journal?

Databases
Checking the peer-reviewed option on the search page will limit your results to scholarly articles
Audience
Scholarly articles are written for researchers and students, not the casual reader
Authorship
Scholarly articles are written by experts or researchers
Content
Scholarly articles can include reports, conference proceedings, and research
Credit
Scholarly articles have references and citations to previous research
Editors
Scholarly articles are previewed or peer-reviewed
Layout
Scholarly articles have a simple, ad-free format
Publisher
Scholarly articles are published by professional groups or institutions