Check Open Textbook Library - Languages for new additions!
Leyendas y arquetipos del Romanticismo español, Segunda edición
Robert Sanders, Portland State University
Leyendas y arquetipos del Romanticismo español is an introduction to nineteenth-century Spanish literature with a thematic focus on legends and archetypes. It presents Romanticism in the context of nineteenth-century literary and social movements.
Acceso - an open-access, digital learning environment designed to promote the acquisition of Spanish and the development of cultural understanding of the varied groups of people who share Spanish as a common language
coerll: Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning - Hosted by the University of Texas at Austin, the Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
OpenStax CNX - Spanish - Several open textbooks on topics related to learning the Spanish language
Carnegie Mellon Open Learning Initiative:
Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges Open Course Library:
Audiria - Free Spanish podcasts arranged by level of proficiency, with exercises, textbook, personal stats, and other learning resources.
World Language Resources - List of resources (for mostly French, Spanish and German) compiled as part of a federally funded grant to identify open educational resources for World Language teachers in Maine.
Spanish Language and Culture - Has study modules, interactive activities, links to other resources, video with audio.
Ojala que llueva cafe - Subjunctive exercises with songs.
The Global Text Project - This source for digital texts makes them available in Chinese, English, and Spanish — though not all titles are available in every one of those languages. Subjects encompass business, computing, education, health, science, and social science. The books are divided between those available in HTML format and those available as PDFs.
SpinTX - Authentic Spanish Videos for Language Learning - Spanish language video clips with subtitles for teaching. Part of the Spanish In Texas Corpus project.
Spanish grammar in context - detailed grammar explanations of the Spanish language. Unlike traditional reference grammars, each topic is explained using authentic video examples from the Spanish in Texas project. Accompanying practice quizzes are available on an open Canvas course site.
MERLOT World Languages - An educational resource for teaching and learning languages. Free materials for for many different languages.
BBC Languages - Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages. Site is no longer updated, but most resources are still very useful.
Lingu@net Worldwide - Comprehensive resource for a wide range of languages. Search by language, proficiency level, and source language. Each language has a large number of resources.
LangMedia - A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.
Mis Cositas - Resources for Spanish, French, and Chinese. Includes: Videos, thematic curriculum units complete lesson plans, student worksheets and resources, downloadable materials collections with activities, manipulatives and mini-posters over 40 virtual illustrated picturebooks organized thematically, as well as a list of vetted links.
GLOSS - Global Language Online Support System from the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, CA. Lessons are developed for independent learners to provide them with the learning/teaching tools for improving their foreign language skills. Reading and listening lessons are based on authentic materials (articles, TV reports, radio broadcasts, etc.) and consist of 4 to 6 activities. Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Gulf-Arabic, Hebrew, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Carl Blyth, University of Texas, Austin
Karen Kelton, University of Texas, Austin
Nancy Guilloteau, University of Texas, Austin
This textbook of classroom activities and homework accompanies Français interactif.
Joanna Gay Luks, Cornell University
Le Littéraire dans le quotidien is an open textbook for use in French courses. The Literary in the Everyday represents a new pedagogical approach to reading and writing at the lower levels and is applicable to all languages.
(4 reviews)
Gretchen Angelo, California State University
Liberté is a first-year college French textbook with a true communicative approach.
Annabelle Dolidon, Portland State University
Stéphanie Roulon, Portland State University
Histoires d’Avenirs est un manuel basé sur neuf nouvelles de science fiction française qui s’adresse à un public d’apprenants étrangers (de niveaux intermédiaire et avancé) mais aussi à un public natif voulant approfondir ses connaissances de la science-fiction moderne - après un chapitre préliminaire qui rappelle les bases historiques du genre.
David Dinneen
Hope Christiansen
Madeleine Kernen
Herve Pensec
David Dinneen
Madeleine Kernen
Chapeau! is a first-year college text. Although it may appear, at first glance, to move very fast and introduce a large amount of material early, the vocabulary and grammatical structures that we expect students to control actively by the end of the year are limited in accord with our notion of a reasonable application of the ACTFL proficiency guidelines. As a result, while some instructors may be surprised at such things as the absence of the possessive pronoun, no insistence on the use of optional subjunctives, and no active treatment of the relative dont, others may be disturbed by what we still include in a first-year text. What we do expect students to acquire (which is quantitatively less than what we present in the text for them to know about), we believe they will acquire well, providing a sound basis for further study (formal or informal) and permitting us to say to them, both during and at the end of the course, "Chapeau!"
Sons & Lettres: A pronunciation method for intermediate-level French
Stephen Walton
Sons et lettres provides a set of classroom materials to train students to hear and produce the sounds of French and to recognize the regular spellings used to represent those sounds in print. The materials are inspired by a desire to help students feel more confident about their French pronunciation and more at home saying the many French words, familiar and unfamiliar, which they encounter in their studies, in French media and in their travels. In our experience, students are not given sufficient preparation to successfully decipher and pronounce French words. These materials are intended to fill that gap and to clear away the confusion that English speakers often feel when they see French words with seemingly mysterious combinations of letters.
Howard Martin
Alan Ng, University of Wisconsin, Madison
This textbook guides a learner who has no previous German experience to gain the ability to accurately understand formal written German prose, aided only by a comprehensive dictionary.
Zsuzsanna Abrams, University of Texas, Austin
This textbook is newly revised (Mai 2013) and includes all 10 chapters of Deutsch im Blick. It accompanies http://coerll.utexas.edu/dib/, the web-based first-year German program developed and in use at the University of Texas since 2008, and its companion site, Grimm Grammar http://coerll.utexas.edu/gg/. Deutsch im Blick is an open access site with free and open multimedia resources, which requires neither password nor fees.
World Language Resources - List of resources (for mostly French, Spanish and German) compiled as part of a federally funded grant to identify open educational resources for World Language teachers in Maine.
The Global Text Project - This source for digital texts makes them available in Chinese, English, and Spanish — though not all titles are available in every one of those languages. Subjects encompass business, computing, education, health, science, and social science. The books are divided between those available in HTML format and those available as PDFs.
MERLOT World Languages - An educational resource for teaching and learning languages. Free materials for for many different languages.
BBC Languages - Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages. Site is no longer updated, but most resources are still very useful.
Lingu@net Worldwide - Comprehensive resource for a wide range of languages. Search by language, proficiency level, and source language. Each language has a large number of resources.
LangMedia - A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.
Mis Cositas - Resources for Spanish, French, and Chinese. Includes: Videos, thematic curriculum units complete lesson plans, student worksheets and resources, downloadable materials collections with activities, manipulatives and mini-posters over 40 virtual illustrated picturebooks organized thematically, as well as a list of vetted links.
GLOSS - Global Language Online Support System from the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, CA. Lessons are developed for independent learners to provide them with the learning/teaching tools for improving their foreign language skills. Reading and listening lessons are based on authentic materials (articles, TV reports, radio broadcasts, etc.) and consist of 4 to 6 activities. Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Gulf-Arabic, Hebrew, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish.