Introductory composition with an emphasis on essay writing in common rhetorical styles
Composition I focuses on principles of writing, critical reading and essay composition using rhetorical styles common in college-level writing (narrative, example/illustration, compare/contrast, cause-and-effect, argument).
Robin Jeffrey, Klamath Community College
This writer’s reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student should need to successfully compose college-level work.
Annemarie Hamlin, Central Oregon Community College
Chris Rubio, Central Oregon Community College
A textbook focusing on writing in the workplace, with an emphasis on audience analysis, writing for specific situations, document design, research processes, and visual aids.
Amy Guptill, SUNY Brockport
Writing in College is designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text.
Chauna Ramsey, Columbia Gorge Community College
This is a collection of cumulative units of study for conventional errors common in student writing.
Roseanne Gatto, St. John's University
Tara Roeder, St. John's University
Critical Expressivism is an ambitious attempt to re-appropriate intellectual territory that has more often been charted by its detractors than by its proponents.
Carol Burnell, Clackamas Community College
Monique Babin, Clackamas Community College
Susan Pesznecker, Portland State University
Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time.
Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.
Beginning with the sentence and its essential elements, this book addresses each concept with clear, concise and effective examples that are immediately reinforced with exercises and opportunities to demonstrate, and reinforce, learning
Introduces students to the writing process as a means of developing ideas into clear, correct, and effective writing.
Dr Charlie Lowe, Grand Valley State University
Dr Pavel Zemliansky, James Madison University
Volumes in Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing are collections of Creative Commons licensed essays for use in the first year writing classroom, all written by writing teachers for students.
Dr. Charlie Lowe, Grand Valley State University
Dr. Pavel Zemliansky, James Madison University
Volumes in Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing are collections of Creative Commons licensed essays for use in the first year writing classroom, all written by writing teachers for students.
Amanda Stansell, University of California, Santa Barbara
Charles Bazerman, University of California, Santa Barbara
Chris Dean, University of California, Santa Barbara
Jessica Singer Early, Arizona State University
Karen Lunsford, University of California, Santa Barbara
Paul Rogers, George Mason University
Suzie Null, Fort Lewis College
The thirty chapters in this edited collection were selected from the more than 500 presentations at the Writing Research Across Borders II Conference in 2011.With representatives from more than forty countries, this conference gave rise to the International Society for the Advancement of Writing Research.
Nathan Shepley, University of Houston
In Placing the History of College Writing, Nathan Shepley argues that pre-1950s composition history, if analyzed with the right conceptual tools, can pluralize and clarify our understanding of the relationship between the writing of college students and the writing's physical, social, and discursive surroundings.
Melissa Tombro, The Fashion Institute of Technology
Teaching Autoethnography: Personal Writing in the Classroom is dedicated to the practice of immersive ethnographic and autoethnographic writing that encourages authors to participate in the communities about which they write. This book draws not only on critical qualitative inquiry methods such as interview and observation, but also on theories and sensibilities from creative writing and performance studies, which encourage self-reflection and narrative composition.
Mike Duncan, University of Houston-Downtown
Star M. Vanguri, Nova Southeastern University
In The Centrality of Style, editors Mike Duncan and Star Medzerian Vanguri argue that style is a central concern of composition studies even as they demonstrate that some of the most compelling work in the area has emerged from the margins of the field.
Writing as Material Practice grapples with the issue of writing as a form of material culture in its ancient and more recent manifestations, and in the contexts of production and consumption.
Aparna Sinha, University of California, Davis
Chris Thaiss, University of California, Davis
Gerd Bräuer, University of Education
Lisa Ganobcsik-Williams, Coventry University
Paula Carlino, University of Buenos Aires
Emerging from the International WAC/WID Mapping Project, this collection of essays is meant to inform decision-making by teachers, program managers, and college/university administrators considering how writing can most appropriately be defined, managed, funded, and taught in the places where they work.
Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.
Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.
Scott McLean, Arizona Western College
Business English for Success is a creative solution to a common challenge across Business Communication courses: Business English or Business Presentations? Some classes place an equal emphasis on oral and written communication. If that’s the case for you check out our text Business Communication for Success. If, however, your class places the emphasis squarely on written communication and writing proficiency, then Business English for Success is for you.