LibGuides: Cultural Information: Cultural Awareness

Framework for Discussing Cultural Competence

Developing cultural competence is part of a process that also involves awareness of cultural characteristics, realization that cultural attitudes can be changed and refraining from assigning values to differences that exist between cultures. Completing these stages lays important groundwork because successful culturally competent interaction requires participants to share the responsibility of adaptation. A culturally competent group creates an inclusive process that aligns policies and practices with specific goals.

Essential Ingredients:

Valuing diversity
Developing self-awareness (see Thandie Newton's TedTalk below)
Understanding the dynamics of difference
Institutionalizing cultural knowledge
Adapting to diversity

From: Building Culturally Competent Organizations by Tim Brownlee and Kien Lee

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.

In Academic Search Complete you can select "Choose Databases" and add a number of databases to your search that focus on specific cultures or regions.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of articles from political science journals, 1951 to the present.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Current events database - Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents covering native North American culture, history, and life.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
A virtual library of resources from Gale designed to aid students in the study of today's hottest social issues.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Now contains the complete suite of videos in the following subjects, Health, Medicine, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Economics & Sciences. A state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs. Select one video or 1,000 programs - the choice is yours! With more than 6,000 available titles, Films On Demand allows you to customize your school or library's video collection to meet your specific content needs.