Welcome to the English Research Guide at Walsh University! Whether you're researching, building an annotated bibliography, or writing an op-ed, this guide has the tools you need. You'll find resources to help you:
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary database offering full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, books, conference papers, and reports. It supports research across a wide range of subjects including science, technology, humanities, education, business, and health. Features include advanced search tools, citation assistance, subject indexing, and access to both current and archival content, making it a valuable resource for academic research at all levels.
Provides access to a collection of over 125,000 academic e-books across a wide range of disciplines. Includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works. Content is curated and permanently owned by OhioLINK, with funding from member libraries and central support.
Provides access to over 32 million full-text scholarly articles from more than 10,000 academic journals. Coverage spans a wide range of disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Journals are sourced from both major academic publishers and smaller presses. The EJC supports advanced search features and citation tools, and is available to students, faculty, and researchers at OhioLINK member institutions.
A robust full-text database designed to support undergraduate and graduate-level literary research. Offers access to critical essays, scholarly journals, author biographies, classic works, book reviews, and reference materials. Covers a wide range of literary periods, genres, and global authors, with tools to support in-depth analysis and academic writing.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on journals and series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. It includes data on publication frequency, editorial policies, submission guidelines, peer-review status, and contact information. This resource is especially useful for scholars and students seeking appropriate venues for publishing in literature, language, and related fields.
The MLA International Bibliography is a premier index for scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Compiled by the Modern Language Association, it includes citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations from around the world. This resource is essential for students and scholars in the humanities seeking comprehensive coverage of critical and theoretical work.
American & English Literature is a specialized database offering access to a wide range of literary works, including novels, poems, essays, and plays. It supports research and study in American and English literature. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English.
Provides access to a collection of over 125,000 academic e-books across a wide range of disciplines. Includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works. Content is curated and permanently owned by OhioLINK, with funding from member libraries and central support.
A curated collection of academic eBooks across a wide range of disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, business, health, and STEM fields. This collection supports research and instruction with unlimited user access to many titles, full-text search capabilities, and tools for highlighting, note-taking, and citation.
A comprehensive streaming video platform offering over 45,000 full-length academic videos and more than 341,000 video clips across 25+ core subject areas. Curated from over 1,200 international producers, the collection supports a wide range of disciplines including history, science, business, engineering, health, arts, and social sciences. Features include public performance rights, closed captioning, interactive transcripts, and tools for creating playlists, embedding clips, and generating citations.
