LibGuides: Health: Databases

Databases

Wiley Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
About The Cochrane Collaboration

MedicLatina
Medical research and investigative journal articles in Spanish.
MEDLINE (PubMed)
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines. It is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Full Text of leading nursing and related publications.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.

SPORTDiscus
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines.
USDA Food Data Central
An integrated data system that provides nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research. Includes five distinct data types that provide information on food and nutrient profiles: Foundation Foods, Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies 2019-2020 (FNDDS 2019-2020), National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference Legacy Release (SR Legacy), USDA Global Branded Food Products Database (Branded Foods), and Experimental Foods. Includes individual Macronutrients, Phytonutrients, Vitamins & Minerals.
World Population Review
World Population Review turns complex demographic information into easy-to-understand articles on population of countries and cities.

Media databases & Consumer health information resources

Public Health Image Library
PHIL welcomes use of their material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into categories by people, place, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Alt Health Watch offers an immediate resource of full text articles, from more than 170 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete is for the everyday consumer of health care information, searchable in its own custom interface. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. Includes reference articles from the Natural & Alternative Treatments database.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database This link opens in a new window
The database includes information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Now contains the complete suite of videos in the following subjects, Health, Medicine, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Economics & Sciences. A state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs. Select one video or 1,000 programs - the choice is yours! With more than 6,000 available titles, Films On Demand allows you to customize your school or library's video collection to meet your specific content needs.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
3D full anatomy software for use by students. Includes all body systems & structures; including 3D printer files for use in developing your own models for print-out.
Contact your professor for off-campus access information.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health

Health Literacy

Health Literacy Initiative

Chat with a Librarian

Databases

Media databases & Consumer health information resources