New Additions

Beginning Research in Political Science takes a learn-by-doing-approach to guide students through all of the steps needed for their own original projects. Each chapter builds from the previous chapter with step-by-step instructions that guide students towards the project's completion. The textfeatures recent data from the World Values Survey and instructional SPSS Statistics software tutorials, along with a variety of features reflecting its consistent pedagogy.

When you are showered with attention, it can feel incredibly romantic and can blind you to hints of problems ahead. But what happens when attentiveness becomes domination? If you or someone you care about are trapped in a web of coercive control, this book provides answers, hope, and a way out. Lisa Aronson Fontes draws on both professional expertise and personal experience to help you: *Recognize controlling behaviors of all kinds. *Understand why this destructive pattern occurs. *Determine whether you are in danger and if your partner can change. *Find the support and resources you need. *Take action. *Regain your freedom and independence.

Modernity, academia, and the media perceive and relentlessly advance a dichotomous, contradictory relationship between faith and science. However, from the time of Aristotle, it has been demonstrated that man is a rational being who reasons intellectually in a way that animals and technology cannot. Man is also a religious being, correlating himself to what is above and seeking answers to the ultimate questions of transcendence. Dr. Gerard Verschuuren draws from the reflections of St. Thomas Aquinas, St. Augustine, St. John Paul II, Dr. Perer Kreeft, and such scientists as Albert Einstein and Gregor Mendel to reveal the essential connection between reason and religion.

Two U.S. Navy SEAL officers demonstrate how to apply powerful leadership principles from the battlefield to business and life. Combat, the most intense and dynamic environment imaginable, teaches the toughest leadership lessons, with absolutely everything at stake. As leaders of SEAL Team Three's Task Unit Bruiser, the authors' mission was one many thought impossible: help U.S. forces secure Ramadi, a violent, insurgent-held city deemed "all but lost." In gripping, firsthand accounts of heroism, tragic loss, and hard-won victories, they learned that leadership--at every level--is the most important factor in whether a team succeeds or fails. After leaving the SEAL Teams, they launched a company, Echelon Front, to teach those leadership principles to leaders in businesses, companies, and organizations across the civilian sector. . . teaching how to develop high-performance teams. Extreme Ownership challenges leaders everywhere to fulfill their ultimate purpose: lead and win.

Whether in a local community, an educational institution, or a global organization, the key to addressing the current crisis in American public life is genuine moral leadership. Drawing on a lifetime of witnessing, emulating, and nurturing such leadership, Franklin proposes a model for moral leadership and ways in which readers in any context can discover and foster those qualities in themselves.

From the former faith advisor to President Obama, comes an inspirational guide for those who seek to promote positive social change and build a more diverse and just democracy In his youth, Eboo Patel was inspired by love-based activists like John Lewis, Martin Luther King Jr., Badshah Khan, Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Theresa, Dorothy Day, Abraham Joshua Heschel and Thich Nhat Hanh. Patel tells the stories of what he learned and how, in the process, he came to construct work with people from different backgrounds to come together in shared activities that promote the general well-being and that guide cooperative relationships.

In ongoing debates over the value of a college education, the role of the liberal arts in higher education has been blamed by some for making college expensive, impractical, and even worthless. Defenders argue that liberal arts education makes society innovative, creative, and civic-minded. But these qualities are hard to quantify, and many critics of higher education call for courses of study to be strictly job-specific. In this groundbreaking book, Richard Detweiler offers empirical evidence for the value of a liberal arts education. He finds that a liberal arts education has a lasting impact on success, leadership, altruism, learning, and fulfillment over a lifetime. Interview responses show that although both the content of study and the educational context are associated with significant life outcomes, the content of study has less relationship to positive adult life outcomes than the educational context. Implications of this research range from the advantages of broadening areas of study to factors that could influence students' decisions to attend certain colleges.

Your step-by-step guide to the latest in Linux. Whether you're new to Linux and need a step-by-step guide or are a pro who wants to catch up with recent distributions. Covering everything from installation to automation, this updated edition focuses on open SUSE and Ubuntu and includes new and refreshed material--as well as chapters on building a web server and creating simple shell scripts. IT professional and tech higher education instructor Richard Blum shows you why Linux's open source operating systems are relied on to run many of the world's online infrastructure, servers, supercomputers, and NAS devices--and how you can master them too.

This edition includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice, diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Chapter outlines help students find key information quickly and efficiently. Clinical Blue Box videos further explore selected clinical applications. Lippincott® Connect features:  Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience.  Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, audio and video tutorials, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension.   Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can:  Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics.  Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material.  Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later.  Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page. 

The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013.

More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including 35 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Alphabetical organization by generic name for quick access to specific drugs, a full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information, overview of drug categories, drug effects and interactions. Drug monographs for 35 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including drug/food and drug/lab tests, nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. Updates on drug therapies provide the most current information.

Katie heads out west to take advantage of Alberta's oil rush-part of the long tradition of East Coasters who seek gainful employment elsewhere when they can't find it in the homeland they love so much. Katie encounters the harsh reality of life in the oil sands, where trauma is an everyday occurrence yet is never discussed. Beaton's natural cartooning prowess is on full display as she draws colossal machinery and mammoth vehicles set against a sublime Albertan backdrop of wildlife, northern lights, and boreal forest. Her first full length graphic narrative, Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands is an untold story of Canada: a country that prides itself on its egalitarian ethos and natural beauty while simultaneously exploiting both the riches of its land and the humanity of its people.

... a graphic novel anthology of interconnected Afrofuturistic parables inspired by the teachings of Buddha. Eight strangers looking for enlightenment from an ancient spiritual teacher are trapped in a cave high in the mountains on their way to his temple. One of his acolytes directs them to each tell a story that the group can learn from as they wait out the horrible snowstorm that rages outside the cave's entrance. The travelers each share a story that, unbeknownst to them, is actually a morality tale representing one of the aspects of final enlightenment as taught in Buddhism. Each story is a spoke on the symbolic Dharma wheel, and each interlocking tale gets the travelers closer to their true destiny. This remarkable collection borrows heavily from the traditions of pop-culture morality anthology series such as The Twilight Zone, The Outer Limits, Night Gallery, Lovecraft Country, and the publications of E.C. Comics.

Who is the Last Ronin? In a future, battle-ravaged New York City, a lone surviving Turtle embarks on a seemingly hopeless mission seeking justice for the family he lost. Get ready for the final story of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles three decades in the making! What terrible events destroyed his family and left New York a crumbling, post-apocalyptic nightmare? All will be revealed in this tale that sees longtime friends becoming enemies and new allies emerging in the most unexpected places. Eastman and Laird are joined by writer Tom Waltz and artists Esau & Isaac Escorza (Heavy Metal) and Ben Bishop (The Far Side of the Moon) with an Introduction by filmmaker Robert Rodriguez!

Katie heads out west to take advantage of Alberta's oil rush-part of the long tradition of East Coasters who seek gainful employment elsewhere when they can't find it in the homeland they love so much. Katie encounters the harsh reality of life in the oil sands, where trauma is an everyday occurrence yet is never discussed. Beaton's natural cartooning prowess is on full display as she draws colossal machinery and mammoth vehicles set against a sublime Albertan backdrop of wildlife, northern lights, and boreal forest. Her first full length graphic narrative, Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands is an untold story of Canada: a country that prides itself on its egalitarian ethos and natural beauty while simultaneously exploiting both the riches of its land and the humanity of its people.

An all-new official standalone graphic novel prequel to Ember in the Ashes novels. Before they were torn asunder, Laia lived happily and quietly with her Nan, Pop, and brother Darin within the Scholar district of Martial-ruled Serra. Although Laia is afraid to venture outside her home due to the heavy Martial presence, Darin loves to explore all parts of their home city... even those that are forbidden. A chance encounter with famed swordsmith Spiro Teluman, who sees in Darin a talent for forging weapons, leads him down a path that pulls him away from his family but towards hope for his people. While Laia is forced to take her brother's place accompanying Pop to combat a dangerous illness spreading quickly through Serra. When Laia discovers a surprising cure, will she brave exposure and the heavily-patrolled streets so she can save the city and someone she loves?

R. J. Palacio's unforgettable graphic novel debut is a story about the power of kindness and unrelenting courage in a time of war. Palacio's bestselling collection of stories Auggie & Me, which expands on characters in Wonder, introduced readers to Julian's grandmother, Grandmère. Here, Palacio makes her graphic novel debut with Grandmère's heartrending story: how she, a young Jewish girl, was hidden by a family in a Nazi-occupied French village during World War II; how the boy she and her classmates once shunned became her savior and best friend. Sara's harrowing experience movingly demonstrates the power of kindness to change hearts and even save lives. Grandmère tells Julian, "It always takes courage to be kind, but in those days, such kindness could cost you everything." Gorgeous artwork brings Sara's story out of the past and cements it firmly in this moment in history. ... White Bird does not shrink from depicting the terror and violence of the Nazi occupation for younger readers, and respects the ability of those readers to handle strong material." --Forbes

In ancient texts, there are stories about men who struck from the shadows, seemingly beyond the reach of death itself. These men were considered part angel, part demon. Their loyalty was to their families, their friends, and their kings. You crossed these men at your peril. And once crossed, there was no crossing back. They were fearless; men of honor who have been known throughout history by different names: Spartan, Viking, Samurai. Today, men like these are highly prized intelligence agents, military operatives, and assassins. Two days ago, one such man was crossed--badly. Now, Scot Harvath must battle his way out.

A man with a mysterious past must find a missing teenage girl. Thirty years ago, Wilde was found as a boy living feral in the woods, with no memory of his past. Now an adult, he still doesn't know where he comes from, and another child has gone missing. No one seems to take Naomi Pine's disappearance seriously, not even her father--with one exception. Hester Crimstein, who knows through her grandson that Naomi was relentlessly bullied at school. Wilde can't ignore an outcast in trouble, but in order to find Naomi he must venture back into the community where he has never fit in and where there are secrets that Wilde must uncover before it's too late.

The day Anna McDonald's quiet, respectable life exploded started off like all the days before: Then her husband comes downstairs with an announcement, and Anna is suddenly, shockingly alone. Desperate for distraction, Anna returns to the podcast. Other people's problems are much better than one's own -- a sunken yacht, a murdered family, a hint of international conspiracy. But she knows one of the victims from an earlier life, a life she's taken great pains to leave behind. And she is convinced that she knows what really happened. When a meddling neighbor steps in, life as Anna knows it is well and truly over. The devils of her past are awakened -- and they're in hot pursuit. Convinced she has no other options, Anna goes on the run, and in pursuit of the truth, with a washed-up musician at her side and the podcast as her guide.

Calcutta police detective Captain Sam Wyndham and his quick-witted Indian Sergeant, Surrender-Not Banerjee, are back for another adventure: 1905, London. As a young constable, Sam is on his usual East London beat when he comes across an old flame, Bessie Drummond, attacked in the streets. The next day, when Bessie is found brutally beaten in her own room, locked from the inside, Wyndham promises to get to the bottom of her murder. But the case will cost the young constable more than he ever imagined. 1922, India. Leaving Calcutta, Captain Sam heads for the hills of Assam, to the ashram of a sainted monk where he hopes to conquer his opium addiction. But when he arrives, he sees a ghost from his life in London--a man Wyndham hoped he would never see again. Wyndham knows he must call his friend and colleague Sergeant Banerjee for help.

Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family, about growing up in her parents' House of Horrors. And she doesn't want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped, who freed her older brother and four younger siblings. It's been easy enough to avoid her parents--her father never made it out of the House of Horrors he created, and her mother spent the rest of her life behind bars. But when her mother dies in prison and leaves Lex and her siblings the family home, she can't run from her past any longer. Together with her sister, Evie, Lex intends to turn the home into a force for good. But first she must come to terms with her siblings--and with the childhood they shared. What begins as a propulsive tale of escape and survival becomes a gripping psychological family story about the shifting alliances and betrayals of sibling relationships.

a high-stakes thriller featuring the world's most dangerous assassin: the Gray Man. Court Gentry's flight on a CIA transport plane is interrupted when a security team brings a hooded man aboard. They want to kick Gentry off the flight but are overruled by CIA headquarters. The mystery man is being transported to England where a joint CIA/MI6 team will interrogate him about a mole in Langley. When they land in an isolated airbase in the U.K., they are attacked by a hostile force who kidnaps the prisoner. Only Gentry escapes. His handlers send him after the attackers, but what can one operative do? A lot, when that operative is the Gray Man.

Only two people know that 1930s society man Lamont Cranston has a secret identity as the Shadow, a crusader for justice. One is his greatest love, Margo Lane, and the other is fiercest enemy, Shiwan Khan. When Khan ambushes the couple, they must risk everything for the slimmest chance of survival . . . in the future. A century and a half later, Lamont awakens in a world both unknown and disturbingly familiar. The first person he meets is a teenager with her own mysterious secrets. Most disturbing, Khan's power continues to be felt over the city and its people; No one in this new world understands the dangers of stopping him better than Lamont Cranston.

A witty and effervescent novel about what happens when two people with everything on the line are thrown together by science--or is it fate? Single mom Jess Davis is a data and statistics wizard, but no amount of number crunching can convince her to step back into the dating world. Jess holds her loved ones close but working constantly to stay afloat is hard...and lonely. Then she hears about GeneticAlly, a buzzy new DNA-based matchmaking company that's predicted to change dating forever. The reliability of numbers Jess thought she understood, until her test shows an unheard-of 98 percent compatibility with another subject in the database: Ally's founder, the stuck-up, stubborn man is without a doubt not her soulmate. Get 'to know him and we'll pay you. Jess begins to realize that there might be more to the scientist--and the science behind a soulmate--than she thought. There is a delicate balance between fate and choice that can never be calculated.