Last Updated: Jan 28, 2015
If these links don't work go to Journal Title List
on the library website homepage and enter the journal name, then select any of the database links that come up to access the journal.
Database of works on display in the Louvre
- Art Full Text
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles in art.
- Art & Architecture Digital Media
Art and architecture digital images from licensed sources, plus contributions from Ohio museums, libraries, and universities.
The ARTstor Digital Library makes available more than 1.4 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from outstanding museums, photo archives, photographers, scholars, and artists.
- Art Source
covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- Saskia Art History Images
Digital images of works of Western Art.
- Art cyclopedia
Fine art search engine. Search by author, title of the work or location. Use this to find museums that works are in or to point you to other resources.
- Art Institute of Chicago Art Access
ArtAccess examines art from the Institute's permanent collection to enrich visitors' understanding of their content, style and historical context. This site is very rich in supplementary material.
- Ask Art
AskART is an online database containing over 200,000 artists. From its inception the focus was on American artists from the early 16th-Century through the present. However, in January of 2007 the database expanded to include international artists' auction records.
- Cleveland Museum of Art Collections Online
Search the entire collections or browse by category of this major museum's holdings
- Creative Commons-Flickr
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
- Flickr Commons
Explore hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives.
- Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art
- Metropolitan Museum of Art: HeilbrunnTimeline of Art History
The Timeline places more than 6000 works in a comprehensive chronological, geographical, and thematic context.
The morguefile contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site. To acknowledge the artist's accomplishments, we ask that you credit the photographer when possible. Any questions regarding liabilities should be directed to the specific photographer.
- Museum of the Moving Image
Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more
- New York Times Multimedia and Photos
NYT multimedia special section and search
- Shared Shelf Commons
Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images.
- Smithsonian Archives of American Art
The image gallery contains over 8,000 photographs, letters, sketches, diaries, and other documents which have been scanned and individually described
- US Government Photos and Images
Find photos and images by topic. Some of these photos and images are in the public domain and may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. However, some photos and images may be protected by license.
- Vads: Online Resource for Visual Arts
Farnham Campus of the University College for the Creative Arts, UK.
- Wikimedia Commons
A database of 11,994,069 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute including files from the National Archives and Records Administration.
- Worldimages - California State University IMAGE Project
Contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.