Last Updated: Feb 18, 2013
- America: History and Life
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- American Periodicals Series Online
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
- Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
An online archive of multidiscipline journal articles in the most significant professional journals.
- Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850
Bibliography of books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio, 1796–1850.
- Morgan Index of Ohio People, Businesses and Institutions, 1796-1850
This index includes names of Ohio people, businesses and institutions appearing in various publications between 1796 to 1850.
- Ancestry (Library Edition) *ON Campus Access ONLY*
*ON Campus Access ONLY*
Ancestry Library Edition provides easy access to more than 4,000 genealogy databases with a single search. Coverage focuses primarily on the United States and the United Kingdom, although other areas are covered. Databases include the complete U.S. Census & Index (1790-1930), vital, church, court, and immigration records.
Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.
- History & Archives Digital Media
Pictures, archives, and oral histories about Ohio history, contributed by Ohio museums and libraries.
- Lake Erie’s Yesterdays (digital photos)
Historic photographs of the Erie Islands and Lake Erie’s western basin; from the Charles E. Frohman Collection in the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.
- National Underground Railroad Freedom Center Digital Images
Digital documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation; includes broadsheets, letters, speeches, and photos.
- Sanborn Digital Maps
Large-scale street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867-1970.
- E. W. Scripps Papers, 1868-1926
Digitized letters and photographs from the Scripps archive at Ohio University.
- Wright Brothers Digital Photographs
Photographs documenting the invention of the airplane and the lives of the Wright Family.
- Kent State Shootings Orla Histories
Oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protestors at Kent State University.
- Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
This site provides access to PDF images of original typewritten transcripts of hundreds of invaluable first-person accounts of Native peoples representing all tribes in Oklahoma. Beginning in 1966, tobacco heiress and philanthropist Doris Duke funded seven American Indian oral history projects, including one based at the University of Oklahoma.
- Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training.
A key component of diplomatic history research is the writings of individual foreign service officers (FSOs), consulate officials, and diplomats.This recent, noteworthy collection of foreign affairs oral histories is hosted by the Library of Congress in its seminal American Memory Collection. It contains an electronic collection of transcribed interviews of foreign service officers who served in the diplomatic corps in the 1920s-40s, but the bulk of the collection features post-WW II FSOs.
- ACTUP Oral History Project
ACT-UP (AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power) revolutionized gay politics, giving new and forceful meaning to the slogan "out of the closets and into the streets." In celebration of all that ACT-UP accomplished (and that still remains to be done), filmmaker Jim Hubbard and novelist and essayist Sarah Schulman have created a Web site of oral histories of individuals who participated in this significant political movement.
- The Rutgers oral history archives of World War II Web archive.
Since 1994, faculty and students at Rutgers Univ. have collected the stories of those who served in uniform or in some home front capacity during WW II. Today containing over 250 oral history interviews,
- The Whole world was watching: an oral history of 1968.
The 1998 collaboration between Brown University's Scholarly Technology Group and members of the sophomore class at South Kingstown High School (SKHS) that culminated in this Web site shows both the depth and the breadth of learning that is possible when experts align with educators to energize students and draw out community members.
- American Life Histories: Manuscripts from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1940
These interviews touch on the Great Depression, slavery, political views, the role of the federal government, local folklore, and a myriad of other topics. First-time visitors to this Library of Congress website should read over the "Voices from the Thirties: An Introduction to the WPA Life Histories Collection" section. Visitors can search the interviews by keyword or state, and visitors may wish to start by reading the interview of Louis Larsen, a farmer, social activist and singer in Nebraska