Introduction to Research Methods and Report Writing
by
A literature review is an overview of existing research on a topic, summarizing and analyzing scholarly sources to provide context for further study. It identifies trends, gaps, and major discussions in academic research. For more information on how to write a literature review check out the Literature Review Research Guide
Purpose of a Literature Review
Provides Background – Helps understand past research and current developments.
Identifies Gaps – Shows where more research is needed.
Establishes Context – Connects your study to previous work in the field.
Demonstrates Understanding – Shows familiarity with key sources and concepts.
Key Components
Summary – Briefly explains the findings of each source.
Analysis – Evaluates the relevance, strengths, and weaknesses of studies.
Synthesis – Connects sources to build a larger understanding of the topic.
Structure – Organized by themes, methodology, or chronology.
NOTE: Use the best articles regardless of whether they are full text. Articles may be available in print at the Library or you may get them from other libraries by requesting them via We Deliver
APA PsycINFO is a comprehensive database offering access to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes journal articles, books, and dissertations, providing essential resources for research and study in psychology and related fields.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing full-text access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics in psychology, mental health, emotional and behavioral characteristics, and related fields. It supports research in areas such as counseling, social work, education, and human development. Ideal for students and faculty in psychology, education, and allied health programs, this resource offers reliable content for both academic study and applied practice.
A full-text database offering comprehensive coverage of sociology and related disciplines. It includes over 190 active full-text journals, with 185 peer-reviewed titles. Topics span social behavior, human interaction, cultural and community development, and social structures. Ideal for students and researchers in sociology and social work, it features notable publications such as Sociological Spectrum, Journal of Social Psychology, and Social Behavior and Personality.
A comprehensive database providing full-text access to scholarly and professional literature in the field of education. It covers a wide range of topics including teaching methods, curriculum development, educational psychology, and policy. The database is suitable for students, educators, and researchers seeking reliable sources to support academic and professional work in education.
An authoritative database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences. ERIC provides access to over 1.9 million records of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations, and policy documents in the field of education. It includes links to more than 590,000 full-text documents and features an education-specific thesaurus with over 11,800 terms.
Here are some web resources to help you with the process of identifying resources, summarizing your findings and writing a literature review.
APA -The information found at the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University includes citation formats, reference lists, footnotes, end notes, statistics and even a sample paper that shows the difference between Level 1, 2 and 3 headings.
