The Royal Library in Copenhagen publishes selected parts of its collections on the Internet. Since 1997 the Manuscript Department has published complete digital facsimile editions of manuscripts. Not all sources in English.
Website provides access to almost 100 collections of digitized sources in several disciplines and fields, with an emphasis on the history of science. Many sources are not in English.
These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries.
This online portal offers access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries. Many sources not in English.
The principal aim of this website is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses. Geographic coverage is worldwide and historical periods range from ancient to modern.
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books provide online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history and intelligence policy. The Europe section focuses on modern European history since World War II.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. The actual number is estimated to have been as high as 12.5 million. The database and the separate estimates interface offer researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
Significant primary materials that represent the culture of countries around the world. Sponsored by UNESCO and the Library of Congress. Contains international materials from 8000 BCE to the present.
