Primary Sources - History

CountrySTAT is a web-based information system for food and agriculture statistics at regional, national and subnational levels. It is based on the FENIX platform, which uses the same open-source technology of the FAOSTAT family.

The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Topics include: Agriculture and Food, Development, Economics, and more.

Large time-series and cross-sectional data relating to hunger, food, and agriculture for 245 countries and territories and 35 regional areas from 1961 to present day.

The Feeding America project has created an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes page images of 76 cookbooks from the MSU Library's collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions. This site also features a glossary of cookery terms and multidimensional images of antique cooking implements from the collections of the MSU Museum.

The digital collection of cookbooks is a collaborative effort between the University Library and the Indianapolis Public Library and will focus on Indiana cookbooks dating from the turn-of-the-century, with a special emphasis on fundraising cookbooks published by churches, synagogues and other community organizations. The University Library has created the community cookbook collection using unique materials from the Indianapolis Public Library's collection of historic Indiana cookbooks.

The Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes over 3,000 vintage cookbooks from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library. These fascinating books take us back to an America in the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, and many other delightful topics.

The National Agricultural Statistics Service provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.

ERS plays a leading role in Federal research on food security and food security measurement in U.S. households and communities and provides data access and technical support to social science scholars to facilitate their research on food security.

ERS research focuses on:
- food security in U.S. households,
- food security's impact on the well-being of children, adults, families, and communities, and
- food security's relationship to public policies, public assistance programs, and the economy.

Although related, food insecurity and poverty are not the same. Unemployment rather than poverty is a stronger predictor of food insecurity.