Walsh University Archives and Special Collections

In August of 1940, H.W. Hoover Sr., President of The Hoover Company, brought 84 British children to North Canton, Ohio. The children, whose parents were employees of Hoover Limited, located just outside of London, ranged in age from 2-15 and were brought to Stark County and fostered by local families in order to keep them out of harm’s way in war-torn Europe. The children returned home after World War Two ended in 1945. This oral history project was conducted in 2015 through the Walsh University Division of the Humanities in preparation for the 75th anniversary of the children’s arrival.

Walsh Universiry students, through the Division of Humanities, completed an oral history project in Spring 2014. The purpose of this project was to identify and record pertinent information and memories from individuals who were instrumental in the suburbanization of Plain Township.

Walsh University students in Dr. Will Cooley's history class performed service learning by interviewing former employees of the Hoover Company in Spring 2010. This collection contains the audio from these oral histories given by various Hoover Company employees.

Topics cover a wide variety of subjects including: diversity in the work place; the closing of the Hoover Company; relationships with the Hoover family; war production fuses; family and social life; and more.

As part of a service learning history class with Dr. Kelly Mezurek, Walsh University students had the chance to conduct oral history interviews with Vietnam War veterans in Spring 2012. This collection contains those audio interviews, as well as transcripts, and some photographs from the Vietnam era from the interviewees.

In Fall 2011, Walsh University students conducted oral history interviews with women who participated in the military throughout US history.

This collection contains the audio from the interviews, as well as transcripts.

As part of a Fall 2012 service learning history class with Dr. Kelly Mezurek, Walsh University students had the chance to conduct oral history interviews with various women about their time in the U.S. workforce.

This collection contains those audio interviews, as well as transcripts.

Henriette A. Cora is a Catholic Holocaust survivor who, at the time of this project, was living in Bethany Nursing Home in Canton, Ohio. She shared her story with Walsh University student Vickie Pierce who visited her as part of Rabbi Spitzer’s service learning course (JS 315: Reparing a Broken World: Jewish Values that Heal) during the Spring 2016 semester. The collection contains a five-part oral history.

Henriette Cora passed away on December 5, 2017.