Guidelines for Using Materials in the Archives and Special Collections
The collections of the Walsh University Brother Edmond Drouin Library Archives and Special Collections are open to students, faculty and outside researchers.
Visiting the Walsh Library Archives
- Users may be asked to sign the Archives Visitor and Check-Out Log located at the circulation desk. The researcher is also required to read and sign the Rules of Use and Consent Form before original materials will be made available. By signing this form, the user agrees to observe the following guidelines. For more advanced research, the researcher should also email the archivist librarian to identify the researcher and the nature and subject of the research project.
- Users may need to furnish photo identification when registering to use the Archives and Special Collections for the first time.
Onsite Research and Handling of Materials
- Food and drink are not permitted in the research area. No smoking or any other tobacco use is allowed in the Archives and Special Collections.
- The use of personal computers and audio and video recording equipment are allowed.
- Due to the risk of inadvertent damage to documents, use of ink is prohibited; please take notes in pencil only. Pencils will be provided if a researcher is in need of one. Prohibited items include: colored pencils, scissors, tape, Post-it notes or similar self-adhesive notes, and personal scanners. Hand held cameras may be used without flash to take photos of documents as long as the materials are handled appropriately for their format, i.e. flat for most documents or in a book cradle for volumes. No extra lighting or equipment is permitted. Use of personal cameras in the Archives and Special Collections requires the permission of the Archival Services Librarian.
- Materials must be handled with care; they must not be leaned on, written on, folded, or otherwise handled in any way likely to damage them. Immediately notify the staff of any damage noticed.
- The user agrees to allow the library staff to inspect all materials present at the research table before the researcher departs the library if necessary.
- Reasonable accommodations will be made to ensure that all qualified persons will have access to the Archives and Special Collections holdings. Please let the staff know how we can assist you.
- Items should be returned to the folder from which they came. Folders should remain in the order they were found in.
Circulation Policy
- Materials are to be used only in the library and cannot be checked out. The quantity of materials provided for examination at any one time may be limited.
- Photocopies will not be reproduced for Inter-Library Loan.
Duplication Services and Copyright Law
- Photocopying is permitted, unless the item is fragile, exceptionally valuable, or too large. All copying must be given the go ahead by a library staff member. Some items will only be photocopied by library staff.
- A list of fees for photocopying, both in black and white and in color is available upon request.
- The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. code) governs the making of photocopies and other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, copies may be provided for individual researchers' private study. The copies are provided for the individual's personal use and may not be further reproduced, published, broadcast, displayed, offered for sale, transferred to another individual or deposited in another institution without written permission from Walsh University Brother Edmond Drouin Library and the copyright holder.
- These materials are provided for reference use only. The user agrees not to publish them without the written permission of Walsh University Brother Edmond Drouin Library. In no case does permission to publish imply transfer of copyright or proprietary rights. Any publication of material from the Archives and Special Collections must credit the Walsh University Brother Edmond Drouin Library.
Federal Law Guidelines
- The Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) prohibits the release of any student records or files without the written consent of the student, during the student’s lifetime. Student files will be closed to researchers during the lifetime of the student plus an additional 50 years, or 100 years from creation date, whichever comes first.
- Directory information, however, can be released. This includes information such as:
- Full name
- Address
- Phone number
- Height and weight of athletic team members
- College major and level
- Dates of attendance
- Full or part time status
- Degrees or awards received
- Previous educational agencies
- Photographs
