Anatomy & Physiology

What is Physiology?
Physiology is the study of how the human body functions—from the cellular level to entire organ systems. Understanding physiology helps explain how we breathe, move, digest, and maintain balance. This section provides resources to help you explore the dynamic processes that keep us alive and healthy.

Overview:
Cardiovascular physiology explores how the heart and blood vessels function to circulate blood throughout the body. It includes the study of the cardiac cycle, heart rate regulation, blood pressure control, and the dynamics of blood flow (hemodynamics).

Suggested Search Terms:

• "cardiac cycle"
• "hemodynamics"
• "electrophysiology of the heart"
• "stroke volume and cardiac output"
• "blood pressure regulation"

Recommended Databases:

• PubMed: Peer-reviewed articles on heart function and cardiovascular research.
• ScienceDirect: Full-text journal articles and book chapters.
• AccessMedicine: Textbook-style explanations and clinical correlations.

Search Tips:

• Use Boolean operators: "cardiac output" AND "exercise" to narrow results.
• Filter by publication date for the most recent research.
• Use subject headings like MeSH terms in PubMed for precise results.

Overview:
Respiratory physiology focuses on the mechanics and regulation of breathing, gas exchange in the lungs, and oxygen and carbon dioxide transport in the blood. It also covers how the brain controls respiration and how diseases affect lung function.

Suggested Search Terms:

• "pulmonary ventilation"
• "gas exchange in alveoli"
• "oxygen transport"
• "respiratory control centers"
• "lung compliance and resistance"

Search Tips:

• Combine terms: "respiratory physiology" AND "asthma" for clinical relevance.
• Use quotation marks for exact phrases.
• Look for review articles to get comprehensive overviews.

Overview:
Renal physiology examines how the kidneys filter blood, regulate fluid and electrolyte balance, and maintain acid-base homeostasis. It also includes the formation of urine and the hormonal control of kidney function.

Suggested Search Terms:

• "glomerular filtration rate"
• "renal autoregulation"
• "tubular reabsorption and secretion"
• "acid-base balance"
• "urine concentration mechanisms"

Search Tips:

• Use filters for “physiology” or “renal system” under subject categories.
• Search for diagrams or animations to visualize nephron function.

Overview:
Neurophysiology studies how the nervous system transmits signals, processes information, and controls bodily functions. It includes the generation of action potentials, synaptic transmission, and the roles of neurotransmitters in the central and peripheral nervous systems.

Suggested Search Terms:

• "action potential generation"
• "synaptic transmission"
• "neurotransmitters and receptors"
• "central vs peripheral nervous system"
• "autonomic nervous system physiology"

Search Tips:

• Use advanced search to combine terms like "neurophysiology" AND "pain pathways".
• Look for open-access neuroscience journals for free full-text options.

Overview:
This area of physiology focuses on how hormones regulate metabolism, growth, reproduction, and homeostasis. It includes the study of endocrine glands, hormone signaling pathways, and metabolic processes such as glucose regulation.

Suggested Search Terms:

• "hormone regulation"
• "hypothalamic-pituitary axis"
• "thyroid function"
• "insulin and glucose metabolism"
• "feedback mechanisms in endocrine system"

Search Tips:

• Use filters like “review articles” to get foundational overviews.
• Combine terms: "endocrine physiology" AND "diabetes" for applied topics.

Label a Diagram: Nephron Function

Print or use a digital blank diagram of the nephron. Label key structures including:

• Bowman's capsule
• Proximal convoluted tubule
• Loop of Henle (descending and ascending limbs)
• Distal convoluted tubule
• Collecting duct
• Afferent and efferent arterioles
• Peritubular capillaries

After labeling, write a brief explanation of how:

• Filtration occurs in the glomerulus, where blood pressure forces water and solutes into Bowman’s capsule.
• Reabsorption happens primarily in the proximal tubule, where essential nutrients, ions, and water are reclaimed into the bloodstream.
• You can also color-code the diagram to show where different substances (e.g., sodium, glucose, water) are reabsorbed or secreted.

Watch & Reflect: Cardiac Cycle

Watch the Khan Academy video on the cardiac cycle. As you watch:

• Take notes on the sequence of events: atrial systole, ventricular systole, and diastole.
• Create a flowchart showing the movement of blood through the heart chambers, valves, and major vessels.
• Write a short summary explaining how electrical signals (SA node, AV node) coordinate contraction and how this relates to heart sounds and blood pressure changes.
• Reflect on how this cycle supports systemic circulation and oxygen delivery.

Compare Systems: Respiratory & Circulatory Integration

Using the book Our Intelligent Bodies or a similar resource:

• Compare how the respiratory system brings in oxygen and removes carbon dioxide, while the circulatory system transports these gases to and from tissues.
• During exercise, describe how:
  • Breathing rate and depth increase to meet oxygen demand.
  • Heart rate and cardiac output rise to deliver oxygenated blood more efficiently.
  • Capillary beds in muscles dilate to enhance gas exchange.
• Create a Venn diagram or comparison table to visualize how these systems work independently and together.

Quiz Yourself: Muscle & Nerve Physiology

Visit GetBodySmart and explore:

• Muscle Physiology: Test your understanding of muscle fiber types, contraction mechanisms (sliding filament theory), and neuromuscular junctions.
• Nerve Conduction: Review how action potentials are generated and propagated, and how synaptic transmission occurs.

• After each quiz, jot down areas where you struggled and revisit those topics using your textbook or class notes.

• How does kidney function affect blood pressure?
• What happens to the respiratory system during asthma?
• Why is understanding action potentials important in treating neurological disorders?