LibGuides: Industry and Market Research: Industry Reports

Industry Reports

Industry Reports can be found in several of our library's databases as well as on public websites. These reports can provide information regarding an industries operating conditions, historical and future outlooks, competitors and more.

Busines Source Complete Search Tips: Enter your search terms such as "airline industry" in the search box. On the results page use the full-text limiter and Industry Profile limiter under Source Types. Feel free to add additional Source Types such as SWOT analysis or Trade Publications to locate additional information.

IBIS World: Use the "Industries" tab to browse by Industry sector and then select a specific industry to bring up the IBIS World industry report. Each report will list the report analyst and date of publication.

Mergent Market Atlas: From the homepage select "Industry" from the navigation menu and then select the green "reports" button. Available reports include: Industry, Supersector, ESG and Mergent Reports. Mergent allows users to select single or multiple reports.

The Library subscribes to the following business research databases. Use these databases to find industry information.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business publications.
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
Provides instant access to over 700 United States industries, everything from Shoes Stores to Gold Ore Mining and all industries in between.
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Market Atlas provides tools for both interactive online research and easy predefined report access. These tools and reports are reflected across multiple product modules including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country and Economic analysis.
The Market Atlas database of corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries.
PLEASE NOTE – Mergent Market Atlas will replace Mergent Online on June 30, 2025.

U.S. BLS Statistics by Industry
Workplaces (establishments) are classified into industries based on their principal product or activity, as determined from information on annual sales volume. Two examples of industries are manufacturing and retail trade. BLS industry data are classified using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
U.S. Census Bureau Current Industrial Reports
The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has provided monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years.
International Trade Administration
The ITA offers information to U.S. businesses on Global Markets, Industry and Analysis and Enforcement and Compliance.