John Burnett
Through good economic times and bad, marketing remains the pivotal function in any business.
Thomas K. Tiemann, Elon University
The book "Introductory Business Statistics" by Thomas K. Tiemann explores the basic ideas behind statistics, such as populations, samples, the difference between data and information, and most importantly sampling distributions.
The author's goals in writing Exploring Business Version 2.0 was simple: introduce students to business in an exciting way.
Exploring Business is adapted from a work produced and distributed under a Creative Commons license (CC BY-NC-SA) in 2010 by a publisher who has requested that they and the original author not receive attribution. This adapted edition is produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative.
Stephen J. Skripak, Virginia Tech
Fundamentals of Business (2016) is an openly licensed textbook designed for use in Virginia Tech’s Pamplin College of Business introductory level business course, MGT1104 Foundations of Business. This work is a project of University Libraries and the Pamplin College of Business, Virginia Tech.
Cornelis A. de Kluyver, University of Oregon
Crafting a global strategy requires making decisions about which strategy elements can and should be globalized and to what extent, and de Kluyver's Fundamentals of Global Strategy can help you illuminate these facts to your students.
Mason A Carpenter, University of Wisconsin at Madison
Sanjyot P Dunung, Atma Global
International Business is one of the most challenging and exciting courses to teach in the Business School. To teach a current, dynamic and complete course you need a textbook by authors as passionate and informed about International Business as you are. Carpenter and Dunung’s International Business: The Opportunities and Challenges of a Flat World provides exploration into building, leading, and thriving in global organizations in an increasingly flat world.
Barbara Illowsky, De Anza College
Lex Holmes, University of Oklahoma
Susan Dean, De Anza College
Introductory Business Statistics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises. The result is a meaningful understanding of the discipline, which will serve students in their business careers and real-world experiences.
Mihai Nica
This textbook provides a brief introduction to the field of statistics, including examples of how these topics shows up in a variety of real-life examples.
Laura Portolese Dias, Central Washington University
Human Relations by Laura Portolese-Dias addresses all of the critical topics to obtain career success as they relate to professional relationships.
Human Resource Management teaches HRM strategies and theories that any manager—not just those in HR—needs to know about recruiting, selecting, training, and compensating people.
Andrew John, Melbourne Business School
Russell Cooper, European University Institute
This textbook, Macroeconomics: Theory Through Applications, centers around student needs and expectations through two premises: … Students are motivated to study economics if they see that it relates to their own lives. … Students learn best from an inductive approach, in which they are first confronted with a problem, and then led through the process of solving that problem.
Doug Curtis, Trent University
Ian Irvine, Concordia University
Macroeconomics: Theory, Markets, and Policy provides complete, concise coverage of introductory macroeconomics theory and policy. It examines the Canadian economy as an economic system, and embeds current Canadian institutions and approaches to monetary policy and fiscal policy within that system.
Andrew John, Melbourne Business School
Russell Cooper, European University Institute
This textbook, Microeconomics: Theory Through Applications, centers around student needs and expectations through two premises: … Students are motivated to study economics if they see that it relates to their own lives. … Students learn best from an inductive approach, in which they are first confronted with a problem, and then led through the process of solving that problem.
This book is intended for a two-semester course in Economics taught out of the social sciences or business school. Principles of Economics aims to teach considerable range and depth of Economic concepts through an approachable style and methodology. The authors take a three-pronged approach to every chapter: The concept is covered with a “Heads Up” to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept.
Anol Bhattacherjee, University of South Florida
This book is designed to introduce doctoral and graduate students to the process of scientific research in the social sciences, business, education, public health, and related disciplines. It is a one-stop, comprehensive, and compact source for foundational concepts in behavioral research, and can serve as a stand-alone text or as a supplement to research readings in any course on research methods.
Matt Magnusson, University of New Hampshire
Ross Gittell, University of New Hampshire
Dr. Michael Merenda, Whittemore School of Business
The Sustainable Business Case Book by Gittell, Magnusson and Merenda is one of the first of its kind. It combines the the theory of sustainability with key concepts, analytical information and contextual information with a collection of cases which provide insights, perspective and practical guidance on how sustainable businesses operate from different business functional area perspectives.
Dr Andrea Larson, University of Virginia
This book is suited for the Entrepreneurship or Innovation course with an emphasis on Sustainability or for a course devoted entirely to Sustainability.
James Brusseau, Pace University
The Business Ethics Workshop provides a framework for identifying, analyzing, and resolving ethical dilemmas encountered through working life.
Elizabeth Pulos
Guillermo C. Jimenez
This textbook provides an innovative, internationally oriented approach to the teaching of corporate social responsibility (CSR) and business ethics.
James D. Edwards, University of Georgia
Michael W. Maher, University of California at Davis
Roger H. Hermanson, Georgia State University
Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today.
William P. Kratzke, University of Memphis
This book is the 6th edition of a basic income tax text.
Joe Hoyle, University of Richmond
Kurt Heisinger, Sierra College
Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today’s students and addresses accounting industry changes as well.
Lauren Kenyo, Ohio University
Sarah Pels, Ohio University
Dr Jacqueline Pike, Duquesne University
Dr Raymond Frost, Ohio University
Business Information Systems: Design an App for That is a text for students in an introductory Management Information Systems course. The book provides insight into what a career in MIS looks like and explains that there is more to the field than just technical programming.
David T. Bourgeois, Biola University
This book is written as an introductory text, meant for those with little or no experience with computers or information systems. While sometimes the descriptions can get a little bit technical, every effort has been made to convey the information essential to understanding a topic while not getting bogged down in detailed terminology or esoteric discussions.
Information Systems: A Manager’s Guide to Harnessing Technology is intended for use in undergraduate and/or graduate courses in Management Information Systems and Information Technology.
Dimitris Chloupis
Dmitri Zagidulin
Nicolai Hess
Stéphane Ducasse, INRIA Lille
Pharo is a clean, innovative, open-source, live-programming environment.
Pharo by Example 5.0 is the second edition of Pharo by Example. It is based on Pharo 5.0. It covers all the elements of the language, core libraries and the IDE. In addition it shows how to build a simple web application with Seaside (a powerful web framework).
Kimberly Richmond, Richmond Marketing + Communications
The Power of Selling is the perfect textbook to teach students about the proven process of selling. More important, it teaches students how to apply the tenets of selling to how to sell themselves and get the job they want, with the same process professional sales people learn (or brush up) on their own selling skills.
John Burnett
Through good economic times and bad, marketing remains the pivotal function in any business.
Amit Nizan, Advertising Age
Lisa Duke Cornell, University of Florida
Michael Solomon, St. Joseph’s University
Launch! is written for advertising and promotions courses taught to students in the business school and journalism & mass communication students. This book is the first of its kind to teach advertising concepts by reverse engineering a real advertising campaign from beginning to end.
Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing - not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment:
Lee Swanson, University of Saskatchewan
This book and its accompanying spreadsheet template will help you build a professional business plan.
G. Lawrence Sanders, State University of New York at Buffalo
Developing New Products and Services by Sanders is an outstanding contribution to market research. The book focuses on the upfront activities and ideas for new product and service development.
George M. Zinkhan, University of Georgia
Leyland F. Pitt, Simon Fraser University
Pierre Berthon, Bentley College
Richard T. Watson, University of Georgia
It is written both for practitioners and business students. Managers wishing to understand how electronic commerce is revolutionizing business will find that our comprehensive coverage of essential business issues (e.g., pricing and distribution) answers many of their questions. Advanced business students (junior, seniors, and graduate students) will find that the blend of academic structure and practical examples provides an engaging formula for learning.
Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.
Scott McLean, Arizona Western College
Business English for Success is a creative solution to a common challenge across Business Communication courses: Business English or Business Presentations? Some classes place an equal emphasis on oral and written communication. If that’s the case for you check out our text Business Communication for Success. If, however, your class places the emphasis squarely on written communication and writing proficiency, then Business English for Success is for you.
Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.
Elizabeth Mays, Arizona State University
Michelle Ferrier, Elon University
This is the first edition of a modular open textbook designed for entrepreneurial journalism, media innovation, and related courses.
Etti Baranoff, Virginia Commonwealth University
Patrick Lee Brockett, University of Texas, Austin
Yehuda Kahane, Tel Aviv University
This book is intended for a Risk Management and Insurance course where Risk Management is emphasized.
David Cadden, Quinnipiac University
Sandra L. Lueder, Southern Connecticut State University
Small Business Management in the 21st Century offers a unique perspective and set of capabilities for instructors. The authors designed this book with a “less can be more” approach, and by treating small business management as a practical human activity rather than as an abstract theoretical concept.
Lee Swanson, University of Saskatchewan
This book is designed for upper year undergraduate students and graduate students studying fundamental entrepreneurship concepts.
Amit Nizan, Advertising Age
Lisa Duke Cornell, University of Florida
Michael Solomon, St. Joseph’s University
Launch! is written for advertising and promotions courses taught to students in the business school and journalism & mass communication students. This book is the first of its kind to teach advertising concepts by reverse engineering a real advertising campaign from beginning to end.
Lee Swanson, University of Saskatchewan
This book and its accompanying spreadsheet template will help you build a professional business plan.
G. Lawrence Sanders, State University of New York at Buffalo
Developing New Products and Services by Sanders is an outstanding contribution to market research. The book focuses on the upfront activities and ideas for new product and service development.
Electronic Commerce: The Strategic PerspectiveGeorge M. Zinkhan, University of Georgia
Leyland F. Pitt, Simon Fraser University
Pierre Berthon, Bentley College
Richard T. Watson, University of Georgia
It is written both for practitioners and business students. Managers wishing to understand how electronic commerce is revolutionizing business will find that our comprehensive coverage of essential business issues (e.g., pricing and distribution) answers many of their questions. Advanced business students (junior, seniors, and graduate students) will find that the blend of academic structure and practical examples provides an engaging formula for learning.
Mai Moua, Leadership Paradigms, Inc
Organizations in the 21st century are in need of culturally intelligent managers and leaders. The pressure to build authentic global networks and to cultivate an appreciation and respect for cultural differences and similarities has driven cultural intelligence to the forefront of diversity and inclusion work.
Teaching the strategic management course can be a challenge for many professors. In most business schools, strategic management is a “capstone” course that requires students to draw on insights from various functional courses they have completed (such as marketing, finance, and accounting) in order to understand how top executives make the strategic decisions that drive whether organizations succeed or fail. Although students have taken these functional courses, many students have very little experience with major organizational choices. It is this inexperience that can undermine many students’ engagement in the course.
Principles of Management teaches management principles to tomorrow’s business leaders by weaving three threads through every chapter: strategy, entrepreneurship and active leadership.
Check Open Textbook Library - Business for new additions!