Finding Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.

Under Statistics see OECD Employment and Labour Markets Statistics. Provide employment, unemployment, and income taxation data for 35 OECD and non-OECD countries.

ILOSTAT is the primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies.

Links to chambers of commerce pages for states and also business areas containing community business and community information.

OECD Tax Statistics are published in two volumes: The Revenue Statistics database provides detailed information on tax and other government revenues broken down by type of tax or revenue and level of government. Data are provided for the period 1975 onwards for all OECD countries. Country data are normally provided in national currencies. Comparable data tables show taxation and social security contributions as a percentage of GDP. The Taxing Wages database provides information on taxes paid and benefits received by workers under 8 different income and family composition situations. Data mainly refer to recent years, but some comparative tables also present statistics of interest over the period 1979 to 2003. Data are provided for all OECD countries in national currency values.

The Internal Revenue Service provides SoI related to all aspects of federal taxation in the United States. While the SoI is another agency that is fairly focused in the topic it covers, it does manage to provide information on just about every aspect of taxation. Statistics cover individual and business taxes by type and topic, statistics by tax form, information on income, IRS operations, and tax exemptions.