LibGuides: Anatomy & Physiology: Eyes

Anatomy of the Eyes

Explore the structure and function of the eye, including the eyelid, orbit, and lacrimal system. These resources provide foundational knowledge for students in health sciences, nursing, and biology.

Anatomy of the Eyelid, Orbit, and Lacrimal System by Edward H. Bedrossian (Editor); Richard R. Schmidt (Editor); Robert C. Della Rocca (Editor); Bradley N. Lemke (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030882648

Publication Date: 2022-02-01

This book is a dissection manual and atlas on the anatomy of the eyelid, orbit, and lacrimal system; it functions as a succinct yet comprehensive resource. Opening chapters provide an introduction to the topic and outline instruments needed for the dissections. Subsequent chapters then describe the dissection of the eyelid in various layered approaches. Then, further discussions demonstrate the neuroanatomy of the cranial fossae, the cavernous sinus, and the dissection of deep orbital structures from an anterior, superior and lateral approach. Closing chapters then examine the nasolacrimal system and nasal cavities Anatomy of the Eyelid, Orbit, and Lacrimal System is an expertly written invaluable resource for the surgeon seeking to enhance their knowledge and surgical skills.
Atlas of Orbital Imaging by Guy Ben Simon (Editor); Gahl Greenberg (Editor); Daphna Prat (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030624255

Publication Date: 2021-10-19

This book features in-depth descriptions of imaging modalities (MRI, CT, US, PET) for all orbital pathologies, including tumors, vascular anomalies, congenital anomalies, trauma, inflammations and infections. It describes all the imaging features of the pathologies, and includes guidance for differential diagnosis and relevant clinical data. Atlas of Orbital Imaging serves as a clinical and educational resource for ophthalmologists/orbital surgeon residents, as well as a source of reference for consultants and neuroradiologists at all levels. The illustrations are both highly detailed and depict the orbit in vivid colour, adding to the attractiveness of the chapters. This reference work is a worldwide collaborative effort of all leading orbital surgeons and neuro-radiologists (in Europe, America, Australia and Asia) and provides an indispensable resource for developing skills and knowledge of orbital imaging.
Anatomy of the eye and orbit : the clinical essentials by Thomas F. Freddo, Edward Chaum
ISBN: 9781469873299

Publication Date: 2017

Anatomy of the Eye and Orbit: The Clinical Essentials achieves the impressive task of presenting all the ocular anatomy that ophthalmology residents, optometry residents, and optometry students need to know – in a single accessible, high-yield volume. It emphasizes the aspects of eye and orbit anatomy that are most relevant to clinicians in training, providing the practical, real-world foundation necessary for practice.

Visual Learners

Visual learners thrive when information is presented in a way that they can see and interpret spatially. If you find that diagrams, illustrations, videos, and color-coded notes help you understand complex topics, this section is for you. The anatomy of the eye is highly visual—its intricate structures and spatial relationships are best appreciated through high-quality images and interactive models. Here, you’ll find resources that allow you to explore the eye in 3D, view labeled diagrams, and watch animations that bring ocular anatomy to life.

Digital Tools:

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Explore 3D models of the eye and surrounding structures.
Films on Demand
Search for “eye anatomy” to find educational videos.
Netter Images
A comprehensive collection of medical illustrations.

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
An immersive, interactive learning tool that allows students to explore human anatomy through detailed 3D models and virtual dissections. Users can zoom, rotate, and dissect anatomical structures to study body systems in depth. Designed for college-level anatomy courses, the platform includes guided lessons, self-assessments, and integrated reference content from Gale. Ideal for both in-class demonstrations and independent study, it supports visual and kinesthetic learning styles.
Contact your professor for off-campus access information.
Films on Demand
A comprehensive streaming video platform offering over 45,000 full-length academic videos and more than 341,000 video clips across 25+ core subject areas. Curated from over 1,200 international producers, the collection supports a wide range of disciplines including history, science, business, engineering, health, arts, and social sciences. Features include public performance rights, closed captioning, interactive transcripts, and tools for creating playlists, embedding clips, and generating citations.

Netter Images
The Netter Collection is the most comprehensive collection of hand-painted medical illustrations available with a 50+ year history and a brand identity recognized and accepted as the standard by anyone who has ever received some form of healthcare training. The collection consists of thousands of illustrations covering all areas of medicine and health science, including basic science, diseases, disorders and treatments. Netter illustrations constitute a natural reference point for both learning and reviewing new concepts in the basic sciences and clinical medicine.

Text-Based Learners

If you prefer reading detailed explanations and writing things down to reinforce your learning, you’re likely a text-based learner. This section is tailored for those who absorb information best through written content—whether it’s textbooks, articles, or structured outlines. The resources here include comprehensive print and digital texts that explain the anatomy and physiology of the eye in depth. These materials are ideal for note-taking, outlining, and building a strong conceptual foundation for exams or clinical practice.

Applied Human Anatomy by Michael F. Nolan, John P. McNamara
Publication Date: 2022

Applied Human Anatomy was created to better integrate material that is more often than not treated separately in contemporary health care curricula. It is hoped that through this integration students will develop a deeper and more lasting knowledge and understanding of human anatomy as they are likely to need it in the evaluation and management of patients.
Human anatomy and physiology : for undergraduate students of pharmacy, nursing, physiotherapy and other paramedical sciences by Ms. Vipula and Ms. Atula
ISBN: 9789386202550

Publication Date: 2018

Learning and increasing knowledge in human anatomy and physiology has been a perennial need of undergraduate students of pharmacy, nursing, physiotherapy and other paramedical sciences. Though there are several books on this subject, the authors have made an appreciable attempt to write the book, Human Anatomy and Physiology to meet their ever-growing requirement in this faculty. The book, which has been presented in a simple, interesting and self-explanatory manner, has 17 chapters, each of them focusing and elucidating the points of studies in a way as demanded by those who want to increase their knowledge in the subject.

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Provides access to a collection of over 125,000 academic e-books across a wide range of disciplines. Includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works. Content is curated and permanently owned by OhioLINK, with funding from member libraries and central support.

Interactive Learners

Interactive learners understand best by doing. If you enjoy hands-on activities, simulations, or testing your knowledge through quizzes and games, this section is designed for you. The eye is a dynamic organ, and exploring it through virtual dissections, 3D models, and interactive tools can make learning more engaging and memorable. These resources encourage active participation, helping you connect theory to practice through exploration and experimentation.

The Open Anatomy Project
The Open Anatomy Project is an ambitious project to fundamentally change the anatomy atlas through open data, community-based collaborative development, and free distribution of medical knowledge.
Get Body Smart - Retina: layers and diagram
Interactive diagrams and quizzes.
Anatomy Guy
Anatomy Guy is a vertically integrated medical education website created by Craig Goodmurphy, PhD, Professor of Pathology and Anatomy, in 2010. The site is designed to bring relevant medical education to the greater global audience at all levels of training and curiosity. It has educational materials for a vast audience from fifth grade students dissecting a frog, to medical professionals and even to patients.

Try This!

Put your knowledge into action with these interactive and practical exercises. These activities are designed to reinforce your understanding of ocular anatomy through exploration, comparison, and self-assessment.

Label the Eye

Download a blank diagram of the eye from Get Body Smart or your textbook. Then:

Label key structures: cornea, iris, lens, retina, optic nerve, and more.
Color-code the diagram to distinguish between anterior and posterior segments.
Bonus: Create flashcards for each structure with its function and clinical relevance.

Compare Imaging and Anatomy

Use the Atlas of Orbital Imaging (available through the Br. Edmond Drouin Library) to:

View CT and MRI scans of the orbit.
Match anatomical structures in the scans with labeled diagrams from Anatomy of the Eye and Orbit.
Try identifying the optic nerve, extraocular muscles, and lacrimal gland in different imaging planes.

Explore a Virtual Eye

Log into Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy and:

Navigate to the eye model.
Rotate and dissect layers to explore the cornea, lens, retina, and optic nerve.
Use the quiz feature to test your ability to identify structures.

Create a Study Set

Using content from Anatomy of the Eyelid, Orbit, and Lacrimal System:

Build a set of digital flashcards using your favorite online flashcard tool.
Include terms, definitions, and clinical notes (e.g., “What is the function of the lacrimal gland?”).
Share your set with classmates or use it for group study.

Clinical Case Challenge

Read a case study involving an eye condition (e.g., orbital cellulitis or glaucoma) from a textbook or database like CINAHL or MEDLINE. Then:

Identify the affected anatomical structures.
Explain the symptoms based on the anatomy involved.
Discuss possible diagnostic imaging and treatment options.

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
An immersive, interactive learning tool that allows students to explore human anatomy through detailed 3D models and virtual dissections. Users can zoom, rotate, and dissect anatomical structures to study body systems in depth. Designed for college-level anatomy courses, the platform includes guided lessons, self-assessments, and integrated reference content from Gale. Ideal for both in-class demonstrations and independent study, it supports visual and kinesthetic learning styles.
Contact your professor for off-campus access information.
CINAHL Complete
An essential database for nursing and allied health research, offering full-text access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journals, evidence-based care sheets, and continuing education materials. Ideal for nursing students, educators, and clinicians, it supports coursework, clinical decision-making, and scholarly research across disciplines such as public health, physical therapy, nutrition, and more.
MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO)
A core resource for health sciences programs, this database provides full-text access to authoritative biomedical journals indexed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Topics include clinical medicine, nursing, public health, and healthcare systems. Features Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) for precise searching, supporting evidence-based research, academic study, and professional practice.